Welcome!
Welcome to the library research guide for BIC 1323.
This main page includes (columns from left):
- Tutorials and How To information
- Links to key article databases (general & subject-specific)
- Contact information for your library liaison
Other pages in this guide:
- Specific types of sources offers additional materials you might need, divided by type of source
- Books/Book Chapters offers a guide for finding and using information from books and ebooks
- Borrow from another library offers information on requesting material not owned at Baylor
- Citation offers information on citation styles and explains the best tools currently available
Tutorials
- Introduction to Library ResearchThis tutorial overview of the research process will help you learn the tools, resources, and features of a university research library.
- How to Recognize the Difference Between Popular, Trade and Scholarly JournalsThis tutorial will help you distinguish between popular magazines, trade magazines and scholarly journals.
- Information TimelineThis video tutorial explains the time frame in which scholarly information is published.
Databases for starting research
These article databases are multidisciplinary, which means they cover a multitude of possible subjects, topics, and paper ideas. They are good places to start, because you'll see if there is enough written on your topic to support a research paper.
- Academic OneFileA collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format from more than 8000 journals with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
- Academic Search CompleteDesigned specifically for academic institutions, this resource is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
- CQ Researcher (online)Good source for getting topic ideas on current issues. A weekly publication of about 20 pages. Covers current issues from a more focused perspective. Great bibliographies of additional sources.
- Opposing Viewpoints Research CenterThis database is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues, featuring viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts.
Subject-specific article databases
If you have a narrowly focused topic in a specific discipline, try searching through a subject-specific article database. Several of the more useful ones are listed below.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThis is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing full-text access to many of the most authoritative scholarly business journals.
- CINAHL with full text This link opens in a new windowNursing, allied health, biomedicine, alternative medicine, consumer health.
- Communication & mass media complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication studies and mass media topics.
- Environment complete This link opens in a new window
Environmental studies, ecology, conservation biology, and more.
- ERICThe authoritative database on educational topics.
- Literature Online the Home of English and American Literature on the World Wide Web.This resource combines several types of sources in one search engine. You can find scholarly journal articles and samples of literary texts from major authors as well as reference works; links to scholarly web pages; audio recordings/live readings of poetry from a variety of poets (contemporary and historical); and dramatized, unabridged audio recordings of all of Shakespeare's plays.
- PsycINFOA good resource for psychology as well as psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and other topics.
- Religion & philosophy collection This link opens in a new windowWhile the database ATLA Religion Database is one of the standard resources in religion, this collection contains more articles about religion in society.
- ScienceDirectScience journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
