This guide contains resources that will help with the Principles of Marketing research and project.
Last Updated: Dec 10, 2014
These resources are places that you can go and find basic, necessary facts quickly. They contain information on areas that are important in constructing a marketing plan. If you should encounter trouble in using the resource or in locating information, remember to contact the business librarian, Carol Schuetz, for help.
These resources are good places to start. They provide information on industries and consumers. By clicking on the i following each resource, you will see more information about using that resource. If you have trouble locating the information you are looking for, consult your librarian for help.
- Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides articles on a variety of business topics. It also provides industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analysis and product reviews.
The Datasets contain many useful statistics from sources such as the Census Bureau and the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Statistics from the EASI Market Planner are also here. Data ranges from national to state to zip code levels. Year coverage varies.
Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and business environment.
- Key business ratios
Provides selected industry ratios in three major areas: solvency, efficiency, and profitability. Users can search by various means, including SIC code, line of business, asset range, and year. Data can be exported to a spreadsheet for further analysis. Includes the latest three years for which data are available.D&B Key Business Ratios is limited to 1 simultaneous users. Please click on the Log Off link (to the right of the "Help" link) when you have finished using D&B Key Business Ratios so it will be available to others.
- Mintel Reports
Mintel Reports offers research reports covering European, UK-specific, and US consumer markets. The reports analyse market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits.
Database of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
- S&P NetAdvantage
S&P NetAdvantage provides access to Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys. Industry Surveys contain pertinent information and statistics on industry sectors in the United States as well as providing a 5 year outlook for these industries
The NAICS code (North American Industry Classification code) is the code used by the government to classify similar businesses together. This code can also be very useful for gathering information about a particular industry.
There are two ways you can locate the NAICS code for your industry. One way is to consult the NAICS Manual which is kept behind the information desk on 1st floor, Jones Library. The call number for the manual is Jones Info Desk HF1042 .N677x 1997. This manual contains an alphabetically listing of various industry activities and services. By using the manual, you can check the listing for the activit(ies) or service(s) that your business or industry provides. Along with descriptive information, you will find the NAICS code associated with that industry. The second way to locate your NAICS code is by going to the Census homepage at the address below.
Here you will find the search box where you can search by keyword to locate the NAICS code for your industry.
Jones Information Desk Hours:
Office hours: M-F, 9:00-12:00, 1:00-5:00; Mobile reference hours (Hankamer) 1:00-3:00, M-W