This is the "Home" page of the "Janet's Top 18 Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Janet's Top 18 Databases   Tags: databases, english_1304  

Start here at the beginning of your research. These databases are usually the most useful.
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2012 URL: http://researchguides.baylor.edu/basic_databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Purpose

The databases listed to the right are the select few that are helpful to the most people for the most topics most of the time.  This list is not intended to be comprehensive--specialized topics will call for research using specialized databases. But for just about any topic, these databases provide a good place to start.

 

Selected Databases Provided by the Baylor University Libraries

For each of the databases listed alphabetically below, clicking on the title will take you that item's record in BearCat, Baylor's online catalog.  From there, those with a Baylor BearID can click on the access link to go to the database itself.  Each entry also includes a short description of the type of information contained in the database.  These are in alphabetical order not in any ranked order. 

ABI/INFORM global - ProQuest
1000 premier worldwide business periodicals with information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, and computers as well as 60,000+ companies.

Academic OneFile - InfoTrac
General and professional journals in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Some are full text. Allows limiting articles to refereed (peer reviewed) publications.

Academic Search Complete - EBSCO
Indexes scholarly and popular publications in all subject areas. About 70% of the articles are available with full text.

America: History and Life - EBSCO
Articles published since 1965 on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

ArticleFirst - FirstSearch
Popular and scholarly articles on any topic.

ATLA: Religion Index - EBSCO
Indexes religious and theological scholarship.

Business & Company Resource Center - InfoTrac
Company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals.

ERIC - EBSCO
Indexes journal articles and unpublished documents (ERIC documents) in the field of education. CSA Illumina, FirstSearch, and the United States Department of Education also provide access, so if you prefer one of those interfaces, you can choose the appropriate link from the library's electronic resources page.

Historical Abstracts - EBSCO
More than 1,700 academic historical jounals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955. Covers from 1450 to the present, and excludes the U.S. and Canada. (For those countries, see America: History and Life.)

InfoTrac Custom Newspapers - InfoTrac
A database of news articles from leading newspapers.

Lexis/Nexis Academic - Lexis/Nexis
New articles each day from worldwide newspapers, magazines, news wires and trade journals. Also available are company, country, financial, demographic, market research and industry reports. The legal component includes federal and state case law, statutes, secondary sources such as law reviews, and state legal materials. Many of the resources are available in full text.

Newspaper Source - EBSCO
Provides cover to cover full text for 20 national and international newspapers. Also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional newspapers.

Periodicals Index Online - ProQuest
An extensive index to the tables of contents of humanities and social sciences journals, with coverage from the first issues of these periodicals to 2000.

PsycINFO - EBSCO
Indexes professional journals, dissertations, and research reports in psychology and related disciplines.

ScienceDirect - Elsevier
Database for scientific research that contains abstracts, articles, and full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.

Social Services Abstracts - CSA Illumina
Indexes articles from 1980 to present in all areas of social services.

Sociological Abstracts - CSA Illumina
Indexes professional journals and conference proceedings in sociology.

Web of Knowledge - ISI Web of Knowledge
Contains multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed, high quality research information from the world's leading science, social sciences and arts and humanities jounals.

Reference Librarian and Associate Professor

Profile Image
Janet Sheets
Contact Info
Office: Jones Library, Room 110
Tel: (254) 710-2335
Send Email
 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip