Welcome
These resources are places that you can go and find basic, necessary facts quickly. They contain information on areas that are important in constructing a marketing plan. If you should encounter trouble in using the resource or in locating information, remember to contact the business librarian, Carol Schuetz, for help.
Shoppers - Demographics
Grocery Shoppers
- U.S. Grocery Shopper - TrendsTrends and news regarding the U.S. grocery shopper.
- FMI Shopper trends for 2015The Executive Summary from the FMI provides an update on grocery shooper trends.
- 2016 Trends in Grocery ShoppingWhat are the top trends in grocery shopping for 2016?
- 2016 Grocery Shopping TrendsInformation from the FMI provides insight into grocery shoppers.
Small Business
- 2016 Small Business profiles - SBAThe SBA Small Business profiels provide a look at the demographics of small businesses in the U.S. Profiles are available for the entire U.S. as whole as individual states and the District of Columbia.
Computer Shoppers
Pew Center Research
- Pew Social & Demographic TrendsInformation on social and demographic trends within the United States from the Pew Research Center.
- Pew Research Internet ProjectReports from the Pew Research Center on technology trends.
Information Take-aways
- Information Take-awaysKey points to remember for library resources.
Quick Starts
These resources are good places to start. They provide information on industries and consumers. By clicking on the i following each resource, you will see more information about using that resource. If you have trouble locating the information you are looking for, consult your librarian for help.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete provides articles on a variety of business topics. It also provides industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analysis and product reviews. In this database, you can search by using a name, such as "supermarkets" or "Hershey". You can also search by using your NAICS code. Enter your NAICS code in the left-hand box, then change the right-hand box from "select a field" to "NAICS code or description".
- Data-planetData-planet provides statistical data from U.S. government publications, state and private sources, and international organizations. Conduct search by keyword(s) and limit results by publishing organization, geographic region, local area, or broad subject. Data may be further restricted by demographic features (age, marital status, industry, etc.).
- Key business ratiosProvides selected industry ratios in three major areas: solvency, efficiency, and profitability. Users can search by various means, including SIC code, line of business, asset range, and year. Data can be exported to a spreadsheet for further analysis. Includes the latest three years for which data are available.D&B Key Business Ratios is limited to 1 simultaneous users. Please click on the Log Off link (to the right of the "Help" link) when you have finished using D&B Key Business Ratios so it will be available to others.
- Mergent online This link opens in a new windowMergent online can be used to locate information on major U.S. public companies and international public companies.
- Mintel reports This link opens in a new windowMintel Reports offers research reports covering European, UK-specific, and US consumer markets. The reports analyse market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. You must create a user profile prior to using the Mintel Reports for the first time. After creating the profile, you login with your email and password each time to use the database. Once you have logged into the database, click on "Advanced Search" at the top of the screen. Here you can enter search terms, select categories and geographic locations for your search. From your results page, you can select reports to view.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Provides demographic, education, health, geographic data and more. Offers the user the capability of presenting the data visually through maps, tables, and reports.
- PrivCo : private company financial data authority This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many well known privately-held companies in addition to M&A activity, PE & VC information and funding deals.
- Standard & Poor's netadvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to major publications and company information from Standard and Poor's.
Subject Guide
Millenials
- Millennial MythsThis white paper describes severals myths concerning Millennials and the reality of hiring them.
- Forbes - Hiring MillennialsInteresting information and infographic from Forbes on Why companies should hire Millennials.
- ZipRecruiter - Hiring MillennialsGuide from ZipRecruiter on hiring Millennials.
- Talent Blog - LinkedInFrom LinkedIn - the blog page of topics about hiring Millennials.
- Why Millenials leaveFrom the Center for Sales Strategy - reasons why Millennials leave.
