Electronic Resources
The following are electronic resources that will enable you to find information on businesses within a certain geographic region.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowThe business component of Lexis-Nexis Academic includes company, country, financial, demographic, market research and industry reports. You can search for company profiles and build company lists and comparison reports.
Go here to find the following:
Hoover's company profiles
Create company lists
Locate company information
Articles on company/industry issues - Reference Solutions This link opens in a new windowDirectory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. Click on the "Search" link beside U.S. Business or U.S. Residential to enter and search the database. Use the custom search to format searches and then enter your search information. Example: If you have the NAICS code for your industry and want to search a specific geographic region for businesses in this industry, you can select NAICS - 2007 and state or city, state from the list and then enter your information for the search.
City Information
The following sites are good for finding information about cities in the United States. This covres everything from demographic information about the population to climate and crime rates to information about schools, transportation and attractions as well as facts about real estate and employers.
- US Cities and State GazetteerProfiles for 179,000 cities, towns, neighborhoods and subdivisions
Maps, data and directions for 1.8 million physical, cultural and historical features - Sperling's BestPlacesLook up information about cities in the United States: cost of living, schools, crime and climate. Compare two cities side-by-side.
- City-Data.comData about cities that is hard to find. Besides demographics, there are real estate prices, cost of living, weather, hospitals, schools, libraries, houses, airports, radio and TV stations, zip codes, area codes, air pollution and latest unemployment data
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County Quick FactsQuick easy access to facts about people, business and geography
- U.S. Census Bureau - American Community SurveyThe American Community Survey (ACS) is a new nationwide survey designed to provide communities a fresh look at how they are changing. The ACS collects information such as age, race, income, commute time to work, home value, and veteran status.
Resources in the reference stacks
- City Profiles USACall Number: Jones Ref E158 .C58x 2008-09ISBN: 1082-9938A traveler's guide to major US and Canadian cities, this book contains information about hotels, attractions, colleges and universities, transportation, shopping, weather conditions and major news sources.
These are books that are in the reference collection and provide demographic information about areas of the United States. There are several that provide information specifically for Texas and the Waco area.
Cities Ranked and RatedCall Number: Jones Ref HN60 .C58 2007ISBN: 0470068647This book rates more than 400 metropolitan areas in the United States and Canada. Cities are rated on markers such as climate, crime, attractions, education, health care and cost of living.
Community Sourcebook of County DemographicsCall Number: Jones Ref HA203 .S65 2008ISBN: 158948195XThis resource contains accurate demographic information about every U.S. county based on the release of ESRI 2008/2013 projections of key population and income data. Updated variables for population, households, families, income, race, age, and consumer spending for a wide variety of products and services are included.- Market Guide byCall Number: Jones REF HF 5905 E38ISBN: 1930732392Newspaper directory and demographics for practically every city in the United States. Number for shopping center and malls, restaurants, educational institutions, hospitals, transportation as well as population, age and ethnicity figures
Sourcebook of Zip Code DemographicsCall Number: Jones Ref HA203 .S66 2008ISBN: 1589481941This resource contains accurate demographic information for every U.S. ZIP Code, based on the release of ESRI 2008/2013 projections of key population and income data. Community Sourcebook of ZIP Code Demographics includes 2008 updates and 2013 projections; data methodology statements; all residential and nonresidential U.S. ZIP Codes; total business and total employment information for the dominant industry in each ZIP Code; spending potential indexes for 20 product and service categories.
Commercial Atlas and Marketing GuideCall Number: Jones Ref Atlas Stand G1101.G6 R3 2009 v.1 & v.2ISBN: 052894245XThis atlas provides current information on demographics for marketing. Maps and tables are included showing populations, income, and housing and sales data (with projections) for the U.S.- America's top rated cities : a statistical handbook.Call Number: Jones Ref HA214 .A43x 2008A 4 volume set with demographic data for major U.S. cities.
