Skip to main content

Nursing LRC Tools for Success: Home

Nursing Students Guide for the Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing Learning Resource Center

Welcome to the Nursing LRC Tools for Success Research Guide

The Mabel Peters Caruth Learning Resource Center (LRC) specializes in nursing information and supports faculty research and student study in Dallas at the Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing (BULHSON).

This Nursing LRC Tools for Success research guide is a highly selective list of helpful resources to get you started and introduce you to some of the resources that are available for use through the LRC. It is not the only place to look for nursing or health information. Ask the LRC librarians for more suggestions.

The guide also provides some Quick Tips to aid in using the resources and may be particularly helpful to first-semester nursing students.

Important Note: Not all links will take you directly into the resource. You may have to click another time at the next link, log in with your BearID, or register with the resource.

Searching Baylor Resources

  

Baylor University Libraries
The University Libraries home page is a great place to link to helps, tips, FAQs, research help and many resources not specifically related to nursing.  On the Baylor University Libraries page, the OneSearch search box is prominent.  

OneSearch is a discovery resource that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including: the BearCat online catalog (books, journal titles, media, etc.); the Baylor Digital Collections; BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.); research guides; and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.  OneSearch does not replace the many subject-specific databases to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe; it supplements and complements those resources.

Baylor University Libraries Research Guides
Many research guides have been created and compiled by Baylor University Librarians on a variety of topics, from specific subjects or class resources to more general useful resources, such as locating a citation's DOI (digital object identifier) or copyright. Take a look through the guides to see if there are any on the topic(s) of interest to you and check back periodically to see if any new guides of interest to you have been added.  In this guide, there is a section on other research guides selected because they might be of interest to nursing students.  

BearCat Classic
The Nursing LRC's resources are listed in BearCat, Baylor University's library catalog.

BearCat (http://bearcat.baylor.edu) is the Baylor Libraries’ database containing information for the over 5 million items (books, e-books, journal titles (including e-journals), electronic resources, microforms, government documents, multimedia materials, etc. available from any of the Baylor University Libraries, including the Nursing LRC.  Use BearCat when you know the exact name of what you’re looking for. 

Example, if you were looking for a book called Medical Spanish Made Incredibly Easy or  Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy , you will find it quicker using BearCat since you know the book title.

If using the Quick Search, you can Limit by Collection: "Nursing LRC" to limit your results to only those materials physically located in the Nursing LRC. If searching the catalog by the Advanced Keyword Search, you can do the same thing by selecting "Nursing LRC" for the "Location" under the "Add Limits" option.

Important Note: Be aware that limiting your search to the Nursing LRC will not pull up electronic resources (i.e. e-books) that might also be available on your topic. To pull up electronic resources, be sure to search without limiting the location and using the "Any", "All" or "View Entire Collection" options.

To Search for Articles:
Use subject-specific databases, such as those listed in the Electronic Resources section of this guide.  You can also use OneSearch for articles.

Nursing LRC Photos

      

Welcome to the BULHSON LRC!

 

Have Questions or Need Help?

The Nursing LRC has two professional librarians available to answer questions and provide research assistance weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.

Stop by the Nursing LRC (located on the fourth floor of the Harry Bass Educational Building)

Call (214) 820-2100

or

E-mail: nursinglrc@baylor.edu

The nursinglrc e-mail is checked at least three times per day Monday through Friday. Nursing LRC users may also schedule an appointment for assistance.

For assistance with technology, printers, or computers, please use this link and click on Technology Request

Nursing LRC People

Director
Susan Gerding Bader, MLS, AHIP-D

Assistant Director
Jean Hillyer, MAE, MLS, AHIP-S

 

Quick Links