Library Resources for New Nursing Faculty: Research Resources

With items spanning seven centuries, four continents and topics local to international, the Baylor University Libraries Digital Collections are among the most unique in the world. Professional historians, scholars, researchers, genealogists and passionate amateurs alike will find our collections enlightening, enriching and of the highest quality.

Use the Libraries' online catalog to identify books, journals, audiovisual materials, electronic resources, etc. available from any of the Baylor University Libraries and several electronic databases. Nursing faculty, staff and students do not need a separate library card to borrow materials from the Nursing LRC.  Your name should already be in the library database.  All we need to see is your building ID badge.

Make valuable research available to other researchers by establishing a community and/or collection of research which might include: conference papers, preprints, post prints, technical reports, working papers, white papers, etc.

Store files (text, graphics, etc.) in and share files from this resource, which provides 50 GB of network storage. Files can be shared with people who are or are not affiliated with Baylor University.

For more information: http://www.baylor.edu/its/index.php?id=94642

BrowZine, an app for iOS and Android devices, organizes journal articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, unites them into complete journals,and arranges these journals -- by broad subject categories -- on a common newsstand.  The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read, and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines of interest.  Use this research guide for more information.

Use this service to find out if articles and books identified in research databases are available in any of the Baylor Libraries, including the Nursing LRC. Nursing faculty who need to obtain items that BU InfoLinks shows as not owned should email the reference to nursinglrc@baylor.edu

Have a suggestion for something to be added to the Nursing LRC collection?  Send the information to nursinglrc@baylor.edu

Use this resource to see if the full text of articles from a specific magazine, journal, or newspaper title is available online. Most of these titles are also available through OneSearch. Please note that this will not retrieve information about print journals owned by the Nursing LRC.

Access hundreds of electronic resources (databases of references to articles, full text journal articles, etc.) to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe. With a valid Bear ID, these resources are also available from off-campus. Some of particular interest to Nursing faculty, in alphabetic order by title:

Access to Baylor theses and dissertations produced beginning with fall 2005.  For more information on ETDs, look at this research guide.

Use EndNote to collect citations from databases and elsewhere; organize them; cite them in papers, automatically formatted for bibliography and footnotes for specific styles. Other citation management systems (RefWorks and Zotero) are also available. Look for them further down this list.

Internet2 provides Baylor with leading edge network capability to the national research community, enabling innovative Internet applications and ensuring the rapid transfer of new network services and applications to the broader Internet community.

Use this Web site to access the resources, tools, and services provided by the University Library and Electronic Library. The Nursing LRC resources are included. Look for the phrases Nursing LRC General Collection, Nursing LRC Reserve, or Nursing Historical Collection.

OneSearch is a discovery resource that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including: materials from the catalog, Baylor Digital Collections, BEARdocs, research guides, and -- most importantly -- much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.  Most Nursing LRC resources are included.

Use this resource to identify research funding opportunities and to identify and locate researchers with interest and expertise similar to your own. For off-campus access, use the Community of Science link from the Libraries' Electronic Resources Database.

Use RefWorks to collect citations from databases and elsewhere; organize them; cite them in papers, automatically formatted for bibliography and footnotes for specific styles (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.). Use RefShare to share your RefWorks databases with others both on and off campus.

View lists of checked-out materials, renew materials online, create and save searches, and be notified when new materials of interest have been added.

Try Zotero, a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work – in the web browser.