General Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Some of these titles will require you to log on with your Baylor ID and password to access them, others are publically available.
- American Heritage Dictionary of IdiomsIdioms are "a phrase of two or more words that means something different from the literal meaning of the individual words." [Preface].
An e-book, click on the "View this e-Book" link to get to contents. - Britannica OnlineAuthoritative, general encyclopedia.
- Oxford English DictionaryMost authoritative dictionary of the English language. Provides history of word use from current through past ages, examples of use from various time periods, and audio pronunciations.
- WikipediaNot always authoritative or reliable but good for a starting point. For other alternatives see the guide What Else Besides Wikipedia at http://researchguides.baylor.edu/notwikipedia
Psychology Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
I've provided links only to online materials. To search for printed books use BearCat's main search page and search for the following: d:psychology d:encyclopedias (the d: tag limits results to works where the word that follows it is only in the subject field).
- Psychology BasicsA 2 volume work covering topics from "abnormality" to "women's psychology"
- The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral SciencesMore scholarly subject encyclopedia. Click on the link "Click here to access this electronic resource" which will take you to a table of contents listing.
- Encyclopedia of Applied PsychologyEncompasses topics including aging (geropsychology), assessment, clinical, cognitive, community, counseling, educational, environmental, family, industrial/organizational, health, school, sports, and transportation psychology. Each entry provides a clear definition, a brief review of the theoretical basis, and emphasizes major areas of application.
- Encyclopedia of Women and GenderCovers the psychology of women, the psychology of men, and gender differences while discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social PsychologyClick on the link in the "Connect To" box, then on the "View this E-Book" link to view the contents.
- Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological TheoriesContains approximately 2,000 terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts.
Click on the link in the "Connect To" box to access the contents - Penguin Dictionary of Psychology, 3rd ed. (2001)Completely revised and updated, this new 2001 edition explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.
- Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology"One of the purposes of writing this dictionary of psychological concepts is to provide a useful referent or baseline set of key concepts for examining the difficult topics of laws, theories, principles, effects, doctrines, and hypotheses in psychology." [Preface].
Reference sources
- Treatment of Psychiatric DisordersContained within the Stat!Ref Database
- DSM-IV-TR Full TextContained within the Stat!Ref Database
