These pages contain resources that will help those in the Sports marketing program.
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2013
The NAICS code (North American Industry Classification code) is the code used by the government to classify similar businesses together. This code can also be very useful for gathering information about a particular industry.
There are two ways you can locate the NAICS code for your industry. One way is to consult the NAICS Manual which is kept behind the information desk on 1st floor, Jones Library. The call number for the manual is Jones Info Desk HF1042 .N677x 1997. This manual contains an alphabetically listing of various industry activities and services. By using the manual, you can check the listing for the activit(ies) or service(s) that your business or industry provides. Along with descriptive information, you will find the NAICS code associated with that industry. The second way to locate your NAICS code is by going to the Census homepage at the address below.
Here you will find the search box where you can search by keyword to locate the NAICS code for your industry.
- U.S. Census - NAICS
NAICS Information and code searching
- Logistics World
Scroll down the left-hand side to "Reference Library". Once on this page, select NAICS and SIC codes. Here you can browse by category, search by code or keyword or use the conversion tool to move between NAICS and SIC codes.
ProQuest Datasets provide information in the form of data from a variety of sources. This resource can provide demographic data about consumers as well as data on the consumption of different items. Please see your Baylor business librarian for help in using this database.
- Data Planet
Provides statistical data from U.S. government publications, state and private sources, and international organizations. Conduct search by keyword(s) and limit results by publishing organization, geographic region, local area, or broad subject. Data may be further restricted by demographic features (age, marital status, industry, etc.).
- ProQuest Statistical Insights
These are databases that will help you find industry information .
Offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for business and industry market trends.
- Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides access to industry-related trade publications and industry profiles from a variety of sources.
Business reports in four categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, global industry research, and business environment. Industry reports for China are also included.
- LexisNexis Academic
The business component of Lexis-Nexis Academic UNIVerse includes company, country, financial, demographic, market research and industry reports.
- Mintel Reports
This resource offers research reports covering European, UK-specific, and US consumer markets. The reports analyse market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits.
SBRnet provides searchable news and market research from the National Sporting Goods Association and other industry sources on all aspects of sporting goods, sports equipment, participation, broadcasting and marketing.
- SPORTDiscus with full text
Bibliographic and full-text database covering conference proceedings, both serial and monographic literature on sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law and legislation, disabled athletes, sports facility design and management, intramural and school sports, doping, health, and health education.
- Sports fan market 2010
A statistical study that combines multiple measures of consumer behavior relating to attendance, TV viewership, online viewership and purchases of sports logo apparel of fourteen sports between Oct. 2008 and Sept. 2009.
These resources provide information about advertising in various media and company expenditures for advertising.
- Advertising Redbooks.com
The Agency Database contains detailed profiles of nearly <14,000> U.S. and international advertising agencies, including accounts represented by each agency, fields of specialization, breakdown of gross billings by media, contact information on agency personnel, etc. The Advertiser Database contains exclusive information on over <18,000> U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising.
- SRDS Media Solutions
This resource provides advertising rates for a variety of media (radio, television, newspapers, etc.)
Jones Information Desk Hours:
Office hours: M-F, 9:00-12:00, 1:00-5:00; Mobile reference hours (Hankamer) 1:00-3:00, M-W
The Following handbooks are available through the Business Source Complete database. They can be found by search the handbook title as "Source Title".
- Casinos, Gaming & Wagering
- Consumer Behavior
- Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook
- Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook
- Leisure Market Research Handbook
- Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook
- Retail Business Market Research Handbook
- Sports Marketing
- Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook