Quick guide to the various streaming music options (both subscription and free).
Last Updated: Jul 23, 2013
Through the the Central Libraries' Electronic Resources Database (ERD), you can listen to music or view video on or off campus, anytime of the day or night. Just search for "music streaming" or "music video streaming" in the ERD. Many of these resources provide additional information about the music through links or liner notes.
See descriptions of the databases below or go directly to the streaming music databases in the ERD.
- American Song
A history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past." Part of Alexander Street Press's "Music Online" collection.
Currently includes 7,141 albums / 122,211 tracks (growing regularly)
- Baylor Digital Collections: Black Gospel Restoration Project
This collection will primarily contain 78s, 45s, LPs, and the various tape formats issued in the United States and abroad between the 1940s and the 1980s.
- Classical Music Library
The collection includes a broad range of music - vocal and choral music, chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. Part of Alexander Street Press's "Music Online" collection. read more
Currently includes: 14,341 albums / 252,928 tracks (growing regularly)
- Contemporary World Music
Will contain tracks from a variety of genres and labels. Part of Alexander Street Press's "Music Online" collection.
Currently includes 16,238 albums / 204,204 tracks (growing regularly)
- DRAM (Digital Repository of American Music)
Scholarly resource of recordings, including CD-quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World, Composer Recordings (CRI), and other important labels. Emphasis on contemporary classical, but includes other genres as well.
currently includes: 3,700 albums
- DRAM Experimental Intermedia Archive
The Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) is pleased to announce the first installment of an important archive of music from the legendary experimental music space, Experimental Intermedia, in New York. Now active almost 40 years, composer and video artist Phill Niblock has used his loft as a central meeting place for some of the most important American and International thinkers in contemporary conceptual music.
- Jazz Music Library
is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Part of Alexander Street Press's Music Online collection.
Currently includes 10,686 albums / 132,851 tracks (growing regularly)
- Naxos Jazz
Includes thousands of titles of the Fantasy catalogue and Naxos Jazz. Works may be searched by featured artist(s), disc / song title and catalogue number.
- Naxos Music Library
Online access to the entire Naxos and Marco Polo recordings.
Currently 77,830 CDs with more than 1,119,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.
- Opera in Video
Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
This release includes 289 works, equaling 500 hours.
- Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. read more
Currently includes 2,949 albums / 42,405 tracks
- Belfer Cylinders Digital Collection
The Belfer Cylinders Digital Connection provides online access to digital audio files of cylinders in the Belfer Audio Laboratory and Archive. Belfer's cylinder collection includes over 22,000 cylinders, 12,000 of which are unique titles.
Currently includes over 1,400 digitized cylinders streaming online (growing regularly)
- Carnegie Hall: New Commissions
Listen to new compositions that have been commissioned by Carnegie Hall.
- CBC Music: Concerts on Demand
Over 800 free concerts, in all genres, from the Canadian Broadcasting Company
- Free Music Archive
The Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads.
Currently it hosts over 45,000 podsafe songs for free for streaming or download, many under Creative Commons licenses.
- Library of Congress: National Jukebox
Free streaming from the Library of Congress: "The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives."
- Sounds of the Met
Over 200 historical recordings of singers who appeared at the Metropolitan Opera.
This guide was originally created by James Floyd, former Crouch Library staff member.