STEM Librarian
Assignment
For your term project, you will need to identify a natural product or natural product derivative (NP) and write up a detailed description of the NP similar to the chapters in Nicolaou's Molecules that Changed the World or an extensive encyclopedia article. In addition to the references, your paper will include five sections: Historical Perspective, Initial Biological Studies, Synthetic Studies, Molecular Mechanism of Action, and Pre-Clinical or Clinical Development.
Encyclopedias
Use specialized encyclopedias and reference books to find more information about the natural product you choose, or to explore the products before choosing a topic. Below are links to ebooks that Baylor has access to. Visit OneSearch to find listings of physical books.
Römpp encyclopedia natural products
ISBN: 9781621983798
Medicinal Natural ProductsISBN: 0470846275
Finding a Natural Product
Websites
The websites below can help you identify a natural product to investigate. Many of the websites also include links to references on the compounds.
- The Global Marine Pharmaceuticals PipelineThe marine pharmaceuticals website contains information about the global marine pharmaceuticals pipeline, which involves both preclinical and clinical research on the pharmacology of marine-derived chemicals.
- NPEdia (Natural Products Encyclopedia) Compound Search Chemical Biology Core Facility, RIKENuse the Compounds Search or look at the 80 compounds in the Authentic Library (click on the link in the Japanese page that comes up)
- NuBBEDBNuBBE database (NuBBEDB) is a virtual database of natural products and derivatives from the Brazilian biodiversity containing the compounds obtained by the academic group NuBBE. NuBBEDB contains the main chemical and biological properties, and the 3D structure of the compounds. This database is the result of a collaborative research between the academic groups NuBBE and LQMC.
- Total SynthesesInformation about the synthesis of natural products maintained by the Department of Chemistry, University of Wisconsin
- Traditional Chinese Medicine Databasecurrently the world largest and most comprehensive free down small molecular database on traditional Chinese medicine for virtual screening.
Books
Go to OneSearch and search for natural products. The books listed are likely to have names of different natural products. Specialized encyclopedias and reference books can help you find more information about the natural product you choose or help you to explore the products before choosing a topic.
Bioactive Natural Products by
Natural compounds, which have evolved their function over millions of years, are often more efficient than man-made compounds if a specific biological activity is needed, e.g. as an enzyme inhibitor or as a toxin to kill a cancer cell. This book comprising of sixteen technical chapters, highlights the chemical and biological aspects of potential natural products with an intention of unravelling their pharmaceutical applicability in modern drug discovery processes. Key features: Covers the synthesis, semi-synthesis and also biosynthesis of potentially bioactive natural products Features chemical and biological advances in naturally occurring organic compounds describing their chemical transformations, mode of actions, and structure-activity relationships 40 expert scientists from around the world report their latest findings and outline future opportunities for the development of novel and highly potent drugs based on natural products operating at the interface of chemistry and biology Forward-looking: Addresses opportunities and cutting-edge developments rather than well-documented basic knowledge, pinpoints current trends and future directions in this rapidly-evolving field Application-oriented: Throughout the book, the focus is on actual and potential applications in pharmacology and biotechnology This book is an essential resource for natural products chemists, medicinal chemists, biotechnologists, biochemists, pharmacologists, as well as the pharmaceutical and biotechnological industries.
ISBN: 9783527684410Publication Date: 2015-01-20
Discovery and Development of Antidiabetic Agents from Natural Products by
Discovery and Development of Antidiabetic Agents from Natural Products brings together global research on the medicinal chemistry of active agents from natural sources for the prevention and treatment of diabetes and associated disorders. From the identification of promising leads, to the extraction and synthesis of bioactive molecules, this book explores a range of important topics to support chemists in the discovery and development of safer, more economical therapeutics that are desperately needed in response to this emerging global epidemic. Beginning with an overview of bioactive chemical compounds from plants with anti-diabetic properties, the book goes on to outline the identification and extraction of anti-diabetic agents and antioxidants from natural sources. It then explores anti-diabetic plants from specific regions before looking more closely at the background, isolation, and synthesis of key therapeutic compounds and their derivatives, including Mangiferin, Resveratrol, natural saponins, and alpha-glucosidase enzyme inhibitors. The book concludes with a consideration of current and potential future applications. Combining the expertise of specialists from around the world, this volume aims to support and encourage medicinal chemists investigating natural sources as starting points for the development of standardized, safe, and effective antidiabetic therapeutics. Contains chapters written by active researchers and leading global experts who are deeply engaged in the research field of natural product chemistry for drug discovery Provides comprehensive coverage of cutting-edge research advances in the design of medicinal natural products with potential as preventives and therapeutics for diabetes and related metabolic issues Presents a practical review of the identification, isolation, and extraction techniques that help support medicinal chemists in the lab
ISBN: 9780128096925Publication Date: 2016-10-11
Discovery and Development of Neuroprotective Agents from Natural Products by
Discovery and Development of Neuroprotective Agents from Natural Products draws together global research on medicinal agents from natural sources as starting points for the design of neuroprotective drugs. From the prediction of promising leads and identification of active agents to the extraction of complex molecules, the book explores a range of important topics to support the development of safer, more economical therapeutics for these increasingly prevalent diseases. Beginning with an overview of current developments in the field, the book goes on to explore the identification, extraction and phytochemistry of such neuroprotective agents as antioxidants, biophenols and naturally occurring anti-inflammatory steroid analogues. Specific natural sources of bioactive agents are reviewed, and the development of these agents into therapeutics for a number of specific neurological disorders, including Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease and ischemic brain stroke, are discussed. Combining the expertise of specialists from around the world, this in the Natural Products Drug Discovery series aims to support and encourage researchers in the investigation of natural sources as starting points for the development of standardized, safe and effective neuroprotective drugs. Features chapters written by active researchers and leading global experts deeply engaged in the research field of natural product chemistry for drug discovery Includes comprehensive coverage of cutting-edge research advances in the design of drugs from natural products targeted at different kinds of neurodegenerative diseases Offers a practical review of identification, isolation and extraction techniques to support medicinal chemists in the lab
ISBN: 9780128097694Publication Date: 2017-05-18
Green Extraction of Natural Products by
Extraction processes are essential steps in numerous industrial applications from perfume over pharmaceutical to fine chemical industry. Nowadays, there are three key aspects in industrial extraction processes: economy and quality, as well as environmental considerations. This book presents a complete picture of current knowledge on green extraction in terms of innovative processes, original methods, alternative solvents and safe products, and provides the necessary theoretical background as well as industrial application examples and environmental impacts. Each chapter is written by experts in the field and the strong focus on green chemistry throughout the book makes this book a unique reference source. This book is intended to be a first step towards a future cooperation in a new extraction of natural products, built to improve both fundamental and green parameters of the techniques and to increase the amount of extracts obtained from renewable resources with a minimum consumption of energy and solvents, and the maximum safety for operators and the environment.
ISBN: 9783527676798Publication Date: 2015-02-02
Natural Products by
A natural product is a chemical compound or substance produced by a living organism - found in nature that usually has a pharmacological or biological activity for use in pharmaceutical drug discovery and drug design. A natural product can be considered as such even if it can be prepared by total synthesis. In this book, the authors present current research in the study of the structure, bioactivity and applications of natural products. Topics discussed include the in-vitro assessment of chromones and alkaloids from Caribbean plants as potential anti-tuberculars and chemopreventors; natural products as inhibitors of ubiquitin and ubiquitin-like protein-proteasome pathways; the biological activities of red propolis; nanoencapsulation of natural products; and natural products as a source of potential drugs for the treatment of fungal infections.
ISBN: 9781620817377Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Natural Products by
Natural Products: Discourse, Diversity and Design provides an informative and accessible overview of discoveries in the area of natural products in the genomic era, bringing together advances across the kingdoms. As genomics data makes it increasingly clear that the genomes of microbes and plants contain far more genes for natural product synthesis than had been predicted from the numbers of previously identified metabolites, the potential of these organisms to synthesize diverse natural products is likely to be far greater than previously envisaged. Natural Products addresses not only the philosophical questions of the natural role of these metabolites, but also the evolution of single and multiple pathways, and how these pathways and products may be harnessed to aid discovery of new bioactives and modes of action. Edited by recognized leaders in the fields of plant and microbial biology, bioorganic chemistry and natural products chemistry, and with contributions from researchers at top labs around the world, Natural Products is unprecedented in its combination of disciplines and the breadth of its coverage. Natural Produces: Discourse, Diversity and Design will appeal to advanced students and experienced researchers, from academia to industry, in diverse areas including ecology, industrial biotechnology, drug discovery, medicinal chemistry, agronomy, crop improvement, and natural product chemistry.
ISBN: 9781118794609Publication Date: 2014-04-02
Natural Products Desk Reference by
Written by the team that brought you the prestigious Dictionary of Natural Products (DNP), the Natural Products Desk Referenceprovides a concise overview of the key structural types of natural products and their interrelationship. A structurally diverse group, ranging from simple aliphatic carbon chains to high molecular weight proteins, natural products can usually be classified into one or more groups. The text describes these major types, including flavonoids, carbohydrates, terpenoids, polyketides, and lipids, and it illustrates them with accurate chemical structures, demonstrating the biosynthetic relationships between groups. Provides details of specialist natural products journals and journals in biochemistry, biology, medicinal chemistry, organic chemistry, pharmacy, pharmacology, and toxicology that may contain important information on natural products Includes types of names that can be used for natural products, comprising functional parent names, trivial names, systematic names, semisystematic names, and semitrivial names Covers stereochemistry topics specific to natural products Presents an overview of the natural world and its classification, focusing on organisms that are the richest sources of natural products Details known types of natural product skeletons with their numbering, or where there are skeletal variations within the group, an illustration is given of a representative example compound Discusses carbohydrate nomenclature impacts on stereochemistry, and on the nomenclature of compounds other than mainstream carbohydrates Reviews general precautions for handling chemicals in a laboratory environment, highlighting hazards resulting from the acute toxicological and pharmacological properties of some classes of natural products and hazards associated with the use of organic solvents In addition to being a companion resource to the DNP, the Natural Products Desk Referenceprovides you with a mass of other useful information which can sometimes be hard to track down. In compiling it, the authors have drawn on over 20 years of day-to-day experience in the description and classification of all types of natural product.
ISBN: 9781439873625Publication Date: 2015-11-18
Natural Products in Cancer Prevention and Therapy by
Chemoprevention of Esophageal Squamous Cell Carcinoma with Berries, by Gary D. Stoner and Li-Shu Wang Cancer Prevention by Different Forms of Tocopherols, by Chung S. Yang and Nanjoo Suh Cancer Chemopreventive and Therapeutic Potential of Guggulsterone, by Inas Almazari and Young-Joon Surh Inhibition of UVB-Induced Nonmelanoma Skin Cancer: A Path from Tea to Caffeine to Exercise to Decreased Tissue Fat, by Allan H. Conney, You-Rong Lou, Paul Nghiem, Jamie J. Bernard, George C. Wagner and Yao-Ping Lu Cancer Chemoprevention and Nutri-Epigenetics: State of the Art and Future Challenges, by Clarissa Gerhauser A Perspective on Dietary Phytochemicals and Cancer Chemoprevention: Oxidative Stress, Nrf2, and Epigenomics, by Zheng-Yuan Su, Limin Shu, Tin Oo Khor, Jong Hun Lee, Francisco Fuentes and Ah-Ng Tony Kong Keap1-Nrf2 Signaling: A Target for Cancer Prevention by Sulforaphane, by Thomas W. Kensler, Patricia A. Egner, Abena S. Agyeman, Kala Visvanathan, John D. Groopman, Jian-Guo Chen, Tao-Yang Chen, Jed W. Fahey and Paul Talalay Chemoprotection Against Cancer by Isothiocyanates: A Focus on the Animal Models and the Protective Mechanisms, by Albena T. Dinkova-Kostova Human Cancer Chemoprevention: Hurdles and Challenges, by Vaqar Mustafa Adhami and Hasan Mukhtar Personalizing Lung Cancer Prevention Through a Reverse Migration Strategy, by Kathryn A. Gold, Edward S. Kim, Ignacio I. Wistuba and Waun K. Hong Natural-Agent Mechanisms and Early-Phase Clinical Development, by Janet L. Wang, Kathryn A. Gold and Scott M. Lippman nbsp;
ISBN: 9783642345746Publication Date: 2013-01-04
Natural Products in Chemical Biology by
Based on the award winning Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology, this book provides a general overview of the unique features of the small molecules referred to as "natural products", explores how this traditionally organic chemistry-based field was transformed by insights from genetics and biochemistry, and highlights some promising future directions. The book begins by introducing natural products from different origins, moves on to presenting and discussing biosynthesis of various classes of natural products, and then looks at natural products as models and the possibilities of using them in medicine.
ISBN: 9781118391822Publication Date: 2012-05-08
Plant Natural Products by
n contrast to existing books which either focus exclusively on the pharmacological properties of plant natural products or cover the secondary metabolism of plants as one section in general plant science book, this is the first to cover all aspects in one volume. It has all the features of a modern textbook, including color figures, questions and answers and a complimentary website. In addition, the introductory chapters provide sufficient background knowledge in the chemistry and biochemistry of plant natural products and their biotechnological applications to allow its use as a true stand-alone text for student courses.
ISBN: 9783527681976Publication Date: 2014-04-22
Studies in Natural Products Chemistry by
Natural products present in the plant and animal kingdom offer a huge diversity of chemical structures which are the result of biosynthetic processes that have been modulated over the millennia through genetic effects. With the rapid developments in spectroscopic techniques and accompanying advances in high-throughput screening techniques, it has become possible to isolate, and then determine the structures and biological activity of natural products rapidly, thus opening up exciting new opportunities in the field of new drug development to the pharmaceutical industry. The series also covers the synthesis or testing and recording of the medicinal properties of natural products. "There is a good mix of chemistry, structure elucidation, synthesis, and biology in the various chapters, thereby appealing to a diverse readership. The diagrams are clear and the writing excellent. In summary, this is another excellent volume in a very valuable series on natural products for which Professor Atta-ur-Rahman is to be congratulated...... an important and essential asset for those libraries supporting the efforts of natural product research groups." Geoffrey A. Cordell, University of Illinois, Chicago, USA, PHYTOCHEMISTRY, Vol.65, 2004 Describes the chemistry of bioactive natural products Contains contributions by leading authorities in the field A valuable source for researchers and engineers working in natural product and medicinal chemistry
ISBN: 9780444538376Publication Date: 2012-10-11
Useful Databases
You can use these websites to get references about the natural product that you choose.
- ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
Aggregates chemical structures and their associated information into a searchable database.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Indexes peer-reviewed chemistry literature and provides information on substances and reactions.
Note: Before using SciFinder-n the first time, you must CREATE A PERSONAL ACCOUNT.
- Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed works in 254 disciplines. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
- Chemical Entities of Biological Interest (ChEBI)Chemical Entities of Biological Interest (ChEBI) is a freely available dictionary of molecular entities focused on ‘small’ chemical compounds
- ZINC15a free database of commercially-available compounds for virtual screening
Finding the Scientists
To find biographical information about your scientist, the first bet is that if they are living, they might still be active in research and therefore have a website at the institution where they work. Using Google to search for their name and finding their institutional website is a good best bet.
If the scientist is quite well known, he or she may be listed in one of our biographical databases, which you can find below.
- American national biography online This link opens in a new window
Discover biographies of more than 19,000 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped American history and culture.
- Oxford dictionary of national biography This link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative biographies of deceased individuals who influenced British history, including colonial British-Americans. Biographies include a listing of major works written by the individual (if any) and a reference list of full-length biographies and critical articles. Each biography also includes a "Reputation" section which describes the individual's standing in his or her time period and how that has changed since then. Very helpfully will indicate where the individual's archives are, if they exist. Also provides links to major themed articles (on the American Founding Fathers, for instance), entries to related individuals, and to other online resources produced by Oxford University Press (which we may or may not have access to). Oxford University Press.
Clinical Development
- Drugs @ FDAFDA approved drugs
- Clinical Trialsdatabase of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world
- Pub Med Clinical TrialsFind results pertaining to Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics
