Finding Articles
The databases below will help you find articles. It is not an exhaustive list, but these are good places to start.
Because Environmental Science is multidisciplinary, you might find databases for cognate fields useful.
Review papers are good places to start to find out more about a topic. Scientific research articles are usually more focused. In a literature review, one should logically and systematically tie together different concepts and conclusions from scientific research articles.
Some databases give you the option of clicking to find related articles. Related articles can include articles cited in the article of interest (older articles), articles which cite the article of interest (new articles), and articles which have a large number of overlapping references.
Interdisciplinary and Environmental Databases
- Baylor OneSearchOneSearch is a discovery resource that replaces BearCat and provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:
, - traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
, - the Baylor Digital Collections;
, - BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.);
, - research guides;
, - and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
General database with strong emphasis in science. Good for interdisciplinary topics. Direct links to articles and BUInfoLink button. Links to cited papers and citing papers and related papers. - Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new window
General database with strong emphasis in science. Good for interdisciplinary topics. Direct links to articles and BUInfoLink button. Links to cited papers and citing papers and related papers. - Environment complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes domestic and international titles going back to 1888, covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine and freshwater science, natural resources, pollution and waste management, public policy, renewable energy resources, social impacts, and urban planning. - Gale OneFile Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Provides information on journal articles and reports covering environmental studies and policy intended primarily for academic researchers, beginning from 1980. Addresses global warming, climate change, alternative energy, environmental policy, going green, recycling, soil, plants, and agronomy. - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles on all aspects of human impact to the environment including the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.
Other Subject Databases
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowFocuses on "non-human" biology including botany and some zoology with some coverage in other areas. Articles easily accessible through direct links or BUInfoLink button
- Gale OneFile Agriculture This link opens in a new windowProvides information on journal articles and reports covering agricultural sciences intended primarily for academic researchers, beginning from 1980. includes coverage on pesticides, soil conservation, mammal physiology, agricultural economics, poultry science, and health foods.
- BIOSIS This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic references for scholarly material covering life sciences and biomedical research including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, molecular and cellular biology, pharmacology, and zoology.
- GeoRef (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Indexes academic journal articles, books, maps, conference papers reports, and theses in the geosciences and related fields.
- PubMed Advanced SearchFocuses medical or "human" biology with some coverage in other areas of biology. Direct links to some papers available in PubMedCentral or BioMedCentral. Links to articles in publishers websites. However, if BU does not have a subscription to that journal (or that issue), there is no BUInfoLink for interlibrary loan. Can click to find related articles.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Contains material not yet indexed in Medline.
Accessing Articles from Off-Campus
If you have trouble access articles or databases from off-campus, make sure you have logged into the Baylor University Libraries. Try putting http://ezproxy.baylor.edu/login?url= in front of the URL which will prompt you for your BearID and password. For more information check out this page or the guide below
