Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Atlantic Slave Trade: Home

Resources used in and to accompany Dr. Jacqueline Mougué's HIS 1307 course section on this topic. Resources in Baylor's Special Collections Libraries and in the Central Libraries

Welcome!

You'll be working with some fascinating primary and interpretive sources from across the Baylor Libraries' collections as you explore the history, influence, and legacy of the Atlantic slave trade. This guide will provide with links back to these items, including digital copies when available, so that you can easily find these items again for any future work or reflection papers.

There is also a list of other library resources that are not in special collections but present interesting aspects of the slave trade that add depth to the primary and interpretive sources.

Don't hesitate to contact any of the special or subject librarians in the box to the right if you would like to see any of these items again, or if you would like to know more about the resources we have on this or other topics.

Interacting with Primary Sources

What do you do with a primary source document? How do you "question" a document? Use this worksheet from the National Archives and Records Administration of the U.S. to begin to question a written document.

"Analyze a Written Document"

Special and Subject Librarians

Amie Oliver, Associate Director, Texas Collection

Amie Oliver, Associate Director, Texas Collection (Amie_Oliver@baylor.edu)

Sha Towers, Associate Dean for Research & Engagement

Sha Towers, Associate Dean for Research & Engagement (Sha_Towers@baylor.edu)

Jennifer Borderud, Dir., Armstrong Browning Lib.

Jennifer Borderud, Director, Armstrong Browning Library (Jennifer_Borderud@baylor.edu)

Andrea Turner, Library Specialist V, Special Collections

Andrea Turner, Library Specialist V, Special Collections (RareCollections@baylor.edu)

Eileen Bentsen, Librarian for English & History

Eileen Bentsen, Librarian for English & History (Eileen_Bentsen@baylor.edu)