ENV 2376 Environment and Society: Manage Citations

•  RefWorks (requires login name and password)

       Refworks is an online citation management tool. It can help you to manage and store all types of information, particularly for bibliographies and citations.

       If you log off campus, you need to enter Baylor's Group Code (see next item).

• RefWorks Information (requires Baylor ID) 

       RefWorks is a web-based service used to create a personal database of bibliographic citations by importing the citations from library databases.

Zotero (free, but requires installing Firefox)

Zotero is an offline citation tool. You can create your own library of citations; also, you can save the snapshot of a Web site. This particular feature might be useful to save info when the Web site may long longer exist or it has been modified.

CiteULike (free, but requires registration)

You can save a citation if you are both logged in a database and CiteULike database. First, you need to click on this icon that you will see in the right side of the address field of your browser. Second, once you have clicked on that icon, CiteUlike will save the citation in its database. Also, you can do a lot of things with CiteULike: export your citations in different formats, share your citations with other users, search citations, and do much more.

APA Style Guide to Electronic References
Style Tips -- American Psychological Association
Citation Styles Handbook: APA -- The Writers' Workshop, Center for Writing Studies, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
APA Style Guide Cook Library, University of Southern Mississippi.
Citation of References Retrieved from Online Databases and the Web Based on APA Style -- University of Alberta Library
Electronic References -- American Psychological Association.
Using APA Format (5th Edition) -- Provided by Purdue University On-line Writing Lab
Web Extension to American Psychological Association Style -- This site references a proposed standard for referencing online documents in scientific publications but does not actually provide examples of how to do so.

http://bearcat.baylor.edu/record=b3044829

A Brief Citation Guide for Internet Resources in History and the Humanities -- Developed by Melvin E. Page at the History Department from East Tennessee State University, this guide provides examples of citing Internet resources using the essential principles from Turabian's 5th edition of A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
Citation Examples Based on APA Style -- Developed by the University of Alberta Library, this page uses the APA convention to provide examples of citing a variety of resources available on the Internet (electronic texts, magazines, journals, newspapers, e-mail, etc.)
Citation Guides for Electronic Documents -- Provided by the International Federation of Libraries Association, this site lists links to a wide-variety of resources on the internet that provide citation guides for electronic documents.
Citing Electronic Information in History Papers -- A paper written by Maurice Crouse, Department of History, University of Memphis in which he discusses the issue of citing electronic resources in history papers and provides examples of how to do so.
Columbia Guide to Online Style, 2nd edition -- Provided by Columbia University Press, some basic information about citing electronic resources is provided from the Columbia Guide to Online Style written by Janice Walker and Todd Taylor. The printed style manual provides citation examples for MLA
DocCite -- Provides a step-by-step guide to putting government publication citations into proper style format.
Resources for Documenting Electronic Resources -- Provided by the Purdue University On-line Writing Lab, this site provides examples from the 6th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers for citing electronic resources.
Web Extension to the American Psychological Association Style -- This site references a proposed standard for referencing online documents in scientific publications but does not actually provide examples of how to do so.

Citing Your Sources - MLA Format -- Quinebaug Valley Community College Library
MLA Style: (Paper and Online) -- Kingwood College Library.
OWL at Purdue University -- Using Modern Language Association (MLA) Format -- Purdue University Online Writing Lab.
MLA Style Guide -- Cook Library, University of Southern Mississippi.
Citation Styles Handbook: MLA -- The Writers' Workshop, Center for Writing Studies, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.