Use OneSearch to find books
- OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is a discovery tool that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:
- traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
- the Baylor Digital Collections;
- BEARdocs, (electronic theses and dissertations, honors theses, technical reports, faculty publications, etc.);
- research guides;
- and -- most importantly, much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.
- traditional library materials (books, journal titles, media, etc.);
Extending the search past Baylor
If you would like to extend your search past Baylor holdings, the next place to go is Worldcat. Use Osofast to order items through Interlibrary loan.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Contains an online catalog to the book, media, archival, journal, map, music, and special collections holdings of libraries across the United States and internationally.
- WorldCat dissertations and theses This link opens in a new window
Indexes Ph.D. dissertations and Master's theses in the collection of OCLC member libraries around the world.
Article Indexes and Bibliographies
Two largest indexes for scholarly articles
Use America: History and Life for articles on the United States and Canada, and Historical Abstracts for the rest of the world.
- America: history and life This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and peer reviewed articles on the history of the United States and Canada.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides abstracts to scholarly journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, books and book reviews in history for all countries except the United States and Canada (for the U.S. and Canada use America: History & Life). Since every subject has a history all subjects are covered, from accounting and biology to warfare and zoology, not just traditional "history.", Includes research on eras from prehistory to the present. Basic, advanced, and visual search features, limits by time period, country, year of publication of article, language of publication, in addition to subject, author, keyword, etc. EBSCO.
Indexes/Bibliographies with narrower foci
- Bibliography of British and Irish history This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly writing by historians on the British Isles, the British Empire, and the British Commonwealth.
- Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new window
Contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia and published worldwide
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Indexes popular and scholarly journal articles, essays, indigenous/First People's newspapers, books, and book reviews on all aspects of indigenous people of the United States and Canada.
- International medieval bibliography-online This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarship on the middle ages (500 - 1400), content is International in scope and in languages.
- Iter : gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes research on the middle ages and renaissance (400 - 1700) in journals, books, conference papers, catalogs, discographies, and dissertations.
- L'année philologique : APh This link opens in a new windowProvides an index to materials in the field of Classical Studies covering especially topics in Greco-Roman history and civilization, archaeology, language and literature. Since June 2009 this database, the electronic version of the print index L'Annee Philologique, has extended its coverage of scholarly publications back to 1924, when the print index was first offered. All years are searchable by the following: modern authors, full text (not full text of the articles but full text of the index!), and ancient authors and texts. For subjects and disciplines there are two options: one for those articles appearing prior to volume 67 and one for those articles appearing after volume 67. Coverage typically lags two years behind publication. Entries for journal articles usually have an abstract and the abstract is usually in the language of the article. By moving the cursor on a journal title abbreviation, the full title of the journal will be displayed. Tip: do not click on the abbreviation, the display of the full title may take a second or two. For books, book reviews are indicated using standard abbreviations for the journal that contains the review. Société internationale de bibliographie classique.
- Gale OneFile War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the full text of selected scholarly and popular journals covering the issues of war, terrorism, and defense policy.
Broader databases that include other disciplines than history
- JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to important scholarly journals and books in many different disciplines.
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Offers indexing and abstracts for journals in all academic subjects.
Browzine: How to keep up with Scholarly Journals
Browzine will allow you to access the electronic journals Baylor subscribes to and keep current with scholarly journals in your field. Follow these steps to sign up for a Browzine account:
- Open your favorite web browser.
- Go to browzine.com.
- Click Choose My Library
- Select Baylor University.
- Go to Settings.
- Under BrowZine Account, click Login
- Click Sign up create an account.
Videos below describe some of the useful features.
