Guides: FYS 1399 Terrorism & Political Violence: Reliable Journal & News Sources

Boxes on This Page

Current & Historical News Sources

These links are to sources of current information in news sources that may be of use to you in your research. There are many more such resources and I encourage you to look at the Electronic Resources Directory of Baylor Libraries' resources, searching for a country or broad subject you are interested in to see what additional specific resources we have.

Access World News
This database provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.
Default search is to United States, simply click on the "The World" link in the breadcrumb trail to see a listing of regions, countries, and specific news sources.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources for researching news, business, industry, and legal topics.

Latin American Newstand
A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics.
Largely Spanish- and Portugese-language sources, but does include the BBC Monitoring Library materials in English.
Library PressDisplay
Online access to over 500 newspapers from more than 70 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. (Retains current 60 days.)
New York Times (Historical)
Full-text of the New York Times newspaper from its start in 1851 to three years ago.
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785 - 1985
Search the full-text of the Times (London) newspaper.
CTC Sentinel | Combating Terrorism Center at West Point
Founded at the United States Military Academy at West Point following 9/11, this Center provides analysis of current terrorism issues and threats through various publications freely available on the web. This link is directly to their monthly newsletter, "CTC Sentinel." See the link for CTC Research Philosophy and Program for additional publications and research.

News Services

Al-Ahram
Weekly news reports from an English-language Arab news source.
Al-Jazeera (English).
24 hour news network with more than 30 bureaus and dozens of correspondents covering the four corners of the world to give people a refreshing new perspective on global events. An untranslated version of Al-Jazeera
is also available.
Asharq Alawsat
Arabic international newspaper headquartered in London

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources for researching news, business, industry, and legal topics.

New York Times Online
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text of the New York Times back to 1851.

Finding Think Tanks (Research Institutes)

Journal/Research Sources

America: history and life This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and peer reviewed articles on the history of the United States and Canada.

C19 Index
You might consider this a "deep history" source. Indexes information published in the Anglo-American world during the later stages of the Colonial era (1790 - 1919). Covers both journals (popular and early scholarly society journals) and includes an index to all books published in the English-speaking world in the 19th century (the "Short Title Catalogue").
CIAO
"Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from non- governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. Best used with Internet Explorer.
Digital National Security Archive
Provides access to declassified US government documents covering critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy from WWII through the present.

Ethnic newswatch This link opens in a new window
Indexes (lists) the articles in newspapers in the United States which are published by ethnic and minority groups. Often not covered in other indexes/databases, the resources can provide insight into how the ethnic group itself views events involving it's nation/ethnic minority and the homeland.
Historical abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides abstracts to scholarly journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, books and book reviews in history for all countries except the United States and Canada (for the U.S. and Canada use America: History & Life). Since every subject has a history all subjects are covered, from accounting and biology to warfare and zoology, not just traditional "history.", Includes research on eras from prehistory to the present. Basic, advanced, and visual search features, limits by time period, country, year of publication of article, language of publication, in addition to subject, author, keyword, etc. EBSCO.

Military & Government Collection
"Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites ... Provides cover-to-cover full text to nearly 300 journals and periodicals and abstracts for nearly 400 titles."
Opposing Viewpoints Research Center
This database is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues, featuring viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts.

PAIS index This link opens in a new window
Covers worldwide public policy literature, international relations, and world politics through selective international sources.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2900 titles including academic journals, 340 full-text monographs and reference books, and 36 000 full-text conference papers.

The Carnegie Foundation for International Peace
The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace (founded 1910) is dedicated to advancing cooperation among nations and promoting international engagement by the United States. Web site provides information about the Endowment, its programs, and sponsored events; as well as news and articles on international affairs and U.S. foreign policy.
War and Terrorism Collection (Infotrac)
A collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format covering terrorism studies and defense policy; intended primarily for academic researchers. This collection is part of the larger Academic Onefile database. Also includes magazine articles and news sources.
Combating Terrorism Center at West Point
The Combating Terrorism Center at West Point has four research areas: Terrorist Ideology, Terrorist Strategy and Structure, South Asia, and Emerging Threats. This link leads you to their home page for research reports which are available to download as PDFs.

An Internet Search Engine

Google Scholar will reduce the number of results you get AND limit those results to scholarly sources you can use in your research. It does that by searching only for materials published by academic journals and academic publishers. Start using this instead of Google for your college-level research.

FYS 1399 Terrorism & Political Violence: Reliable Journal & News Sources