Subject Guide
Company profiles
These resources provide information about companies. This includes information in the form of company histories, financials. competitors, market share and sales volume, and company leadership.
- Mergent onlineMergent Online is a corporate financial database that provides information on U.S. and international companies. In addition to complete company profiles, information includes comprehensive company research, including financial statement data (current and historical), annual reports, company histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, executive bios,and more.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Provides company profiles, news, business and trade articles, research reports, executive profiles, and industry intelligence.
- PrivCo : private company financial data authority This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many well known privately-held companies in addition to M&A activity, PE & VC information and funding deals.
- Standard & Poor's netadvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to major publications and company information from Standard and Poor's.
SWOT/ Strategic Information
The following are sources for SWOT analyses or other information which sets a company apart from its competition.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete provides articles on a number of business areas including company information. This is also a source for SWOT analysis for companies. SWOT analysis are one of the limiter options available on the search page and the results page.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Provides company profiles, news, business and trade articles, research reports, executive profiles, and industry intelligence.
Articles on companies
Articles can be a good source of information about a company. Resources here help in finding articles from a variety of sources.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Provides business information from scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete provides articles on a variety of business topics. It also provides industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analysis and product reviews. In this database, you can search by using a name, such as "supermarkets" or "Hershey". You can also search by using your NAICS code. Enter your NAICS code in the left-hand box, then change the right-hand box from "select a field" to "NAICS code or description".
