Guides: Visiting School Groups: Finding Books, Articles & More

OneSearch

To find Baylor's online catalog go to the library's homepage and click on the OneSearch tab. OneSearch is a discovery resource that provides a single place to search most of the content available from the Baylor University Libraries, including:

the library catalog (books, journal titles, media, etc.)
articles
the Baylor Digital Collections
research guides, and
much of the full text content to which the Baylor Libraries subscribe from a wide variety of sources.

Use the Advanced Search to limit your results by publication type, title, author date, language,full text, etc.

Central Libraries Location Guide

Databases

Electronic Resources Databases

To find Baylor’s extensive list of 963 databases go to the Library’s homepage and click on the database tab. You will see a list of the more popular databases or a link to view all databases. You can also fill in the search box by typing in the specific name of a database or use the drop down menu to select by keyword or subject. For example, if you want databases that give you newspaper articles, select subject and type in newspapers. Your results will be a list that searches newspapers.

Popular Research Guides

Primary Sources Research Guide
In scholarship, a primary source is a document or record containing firsthand information or original data on a topic. Primary sources include original manuscripts, articles reporting original research or thought, diaries, memoirs, letters, journals, photographs, drawings, posters, film footage, sheet music, songs, interviews, government documents, public records, eyewitness accounts, newspaper clippings, etc. Glossary of Library and Research Terms.

African American Resources

This research guide provides links to books, journal articles, databases, reference materials, and other sources in African American History.

British and American Literature Research
This guide covers some of the basic and the specialized resources for the study of British and American literature.

Country Information

Large selection of resources on a wide variety of information on the countries of the world.

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Complete

This resource is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 scholarly journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865

America: History and Life

Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Credo Reference

Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.

Gale Literary Databases

Searches Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography simultaneously. These databases contain in-depth information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors along with critical reaction to their works.

Historical Abstracts

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history women's history, history of education, and more.

JSTOR

Provides access to full text of journals from the first issue to a moving-wall date of 2 to 5 years prior to the most recently published issue. Subject areas covered: African-American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Botany; Business; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; General Science; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; and Statistics.

MLA International Bibliography

Indexes over 3,000 journals and series. Areas covered include literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Proquest Historical Newspapers the New York Times

Offers full-page-images and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover.