Visiting School Groups: Citing Sources

Failing to cite resources properly in your research can be interpreted as plagiarism. The links on this page provide connections to sites on the Internet where you can find basic information that summarizes and illustrates various types of bibliographical formatting, including formatting references to Internet and other electronic resources.

Chicago Manual of Style

• The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition in print ​ at the Jones Info Desk Ref Z253 .C571​

• Examples of Chicago from the  Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University

• Examples of Chicago from UNC

• A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian) in print at the Jones Information Desk Ref. LB2369 .T8 2018
• Turabian Style Citation Quick Guide briefly describes the differences between the Notes and Bibliography system and the Author-Date system, with links to more information about each system.

• A Brief Citation Guide for Internet Resources in History and the Humanities -- Developed by Melvin E. Page at the History Department from East Tennessee State University, this guide provides examples of citing Internet resources using the essential principles from Turabian's 5th edition of A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
• Citation Guides for Electronic Documents -- Provided by the International Federation of Libraries Association, this site lists links to a wide-variety of resources on the internet that provide citation guides for electronic documents.
• Citing Electronic Information in History Papers -- A paper written by Maurice Crouse, Department of History, University of Memphis in which he discusses the issue of citing electronic resources in history papers and provides examples of how to do so.
• Columbia Guide to Online Style, 2nd edition -- Provided by Columbia University Press, some basic information about citing electronic resources is provided from the Columbia Guide to Online Style written by Janice Walker and Todd Taylor. The printed style manual provides citation examples for MLA
• DocCite -- Provides a step-by-step guide to putting government publication citations into proper style format.
• Resources for Documenting Electronic Resources -- Provided by the Purdue University On-line Writing Lab, this site provides examples from the 6th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers for citing electronic resources.

Zotero is a Firefox addon that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It resides in the Firefox web browser. It's free and easy to use. A Baylor Research Guide to Zotero has been created to help researchers understand the entire scope of how Zotero can help with saving and organizing citations, including creating bibliographies. A Zotero Quick Start Guide is located at its website.

EasyBib is a free bibliography maker that supports MLA 7th edition formatting.