Reference Works
Anchor Bible Dictionary by Call Number: Jones Info Desk BS440 .A54ISBN: 0385193513Publication Date: 1992
The New Interpreter's Bible by Call Number: Jones Ref BS491.2 .N484 1994ISBN: 0687278147Publication Date: 1994- Eerdmans' Bible Dictionary byCall Number: Jones Ref BS440 .G7613ISBN: 0802824021Publication Date: 1987
Good starting places
These article databases are multidisciplinary, which means they cover a multitude of possible subjects, topics, and paper ideas. A multidisciplinary database is always a good place to start, because they can give you a sense for whether there is enough written on your topic to support a research paper.
- Academic OneFileA collection of peer-reviewed, full-text articles in HTML and PDF format from more than 8000 journals with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
- Academic Search CompleteDesigned specifically for academic institutions, this resource is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
- Credo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
- JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to more than 230 scholarly journals. Multidisciplinary. Access includes from first issue of the journal to a moving-wall date of 2-5 years prior to the most recently published issue. The subject areas covered are: African-American Studies; Anthropology; Asian Studies; Botany; Business; Ecology; Economics; Education; Finance; General Science; History; Literature; Mathematics; Philosophy; Political Science; Population Studies; Sociology; and Statistics. A complete list of titles is available.
- Periodicals index onlineThis database is unique in combining a broad subject base with deep chronological coverage going back over 300 years. It covers 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences and indexes over 15 million articles going as far back as 1665
- Religion & philosophy collection This link opens in a new windowWhile the database ATLA is one of the standard resources in religion, this collection contains more articles about religion in society. This database is a subset of Academic Search Complete.
Subject-specific resources
- ATLA religion database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship. The file contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion.
- New Testament abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-authored books, book reviews, and biblical software programs. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work.
- Old Testament abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Hebrew Bible (Old Testament) studies. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work.
- Biblical studies - Oxford bibliographies This link opens in a new windowOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Biblical studies, including perspectives from fields ranging from archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies, to literary theory, feminism, philosophy, and theology.
