Arts & Humanities Ebook Collections
Listed below are the major general-purpose ebook resources found at the Baylor University Libraries. To find additional collections of e-books, look at this list; for individual ebooks, search OneSearch..
- ACLS humanities e-book This link opens in a new window
A collection of high-quality ebooks in the humanities which have been reviewed and recommended by scholars.
- American Theological Library Association (ATLA) historical monographs collection. Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Provides a full-text searchable index of (primarily) books published between the 13th century and the late 19th century (1893 World Parliament of Religions).
- American Theological Library Association (ATLA) historical monographs collection. Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Provides a full-text searchable index of (primarily) books published between 1894 and 1923. This resource provides good coverage of titles addressing various facets of turn of the century American religious interests and subject matter.
- Cambridge companions This link opens in a new window
Provides globalized electronic access to all Cambridge online collections.
- Cambridge histories This link opens in a new windowProvides online, searchable access to the well-known Cambridge History series. This series provides excellent essays on all aspects of history from classical to medieval to modern, including histories of science, religion, language, economics, the book, publishing, theater, literature, warfare, music, philosophy, politics, and regional studies. Scholarly, authoritative, includes bibliographies for further study. Cambridge University Press.
- Credo This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content from subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject.
- Digital Karl Barth library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a full-text searchable database of Karl Barth's works in German and English including (as of this writing) "the entire corpus of Barth's Gesamtausgabe", Die kirchliche Dogmatik, the Church Dogmatics, and Other Writings. This is an ongoing project and more volumes can be expected to augment the current online collection over time. The great benefit of this electronic collection is its full text searchability, which facilitates a streamlined, "highly sophisticated" level analysis of the texts of Barth's work, unattainable in the print volumes. The volumes can be searched by tables of contents, by document characteristics, or by keyword through its search engine. Viewing the document files requires some adjusting. Once a particular HTML full-text file has been accessed, succeeding and preceding pages are navigated by means of barely discernable "Previous section" / "Next section" links at the top and bottom left and right margins of the page. This is a tremendous resource for students of Neo-Orthodoxy, Barth, or the history of Reformed thought in the 20th century. Alexander Street Press.
- Digital library of classic Protestant texts This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a full-text searchable database of primary source Protestant documents covering the 16th and 17th centuries only. The collection includes the theological writings of more than 300 Protestant authors, as well as a wide range of confessional documents, biblical commentaries, polemical treatises, and Bible translations. Published by Alexander Street Press (publishers of the Digital Karl Barth Library), this resource has the same interface and the same searchability options and benefits as the aforementioned work, together with its clunky page advancing interface. This is a great resource for anyone seeking accessible primary source material on mainline Reformation intellectual and clerical leaders of the period. Coverage is broad and ecumenically representative, with one glaring exception: no Anabaptist/Mennonite representation whatsoever. If you are seeking primary sources in the Reformed, Lutheran, Anglican, Quaker, Unitarian/Socinian, or Arminian traditions, this is a fruitful resource to search. If you are seeking Anabaptist primary sources, you will need to look elsewhere. Alexander Street Press.
- Early American imprints. Series I Evans (1639-1800) This link opens in a new window
Now part of the database called America's Historical Imprints from Readex. Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800.
- Early American imprints. Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) This link opens in a new window
Continues Evans' American Bibliography as edited by Shaw and Shoemaker and also part of the America's Historical Imprints database from Readex. Provides a record of publishing history in the United States for the dates covered and full-text access to these books, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and European books reprinted for an American audience.
- Early American imprints. Series II Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
Adds many previously unknown resources to the "Early American Imprints, Shaw-Shoemaker, Series II" materials from the collections of a premier private library of American historical, social, and cultural printed materials.
- Evans early American imprint collection-text creation partnership This link opens in a new window
Contains texts of American imprints published between 1639 and 1800. A collection of titles relating to the history of seventeenth and eighteenth century America.
- Early English books online - text creation partnership This link opens in a new window
Produces standardized, digitally-encoded editions of early print books that are indexed in Early English Books online.
- EEBO : Early English books online This link opens in a new window
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
- Eighteenth century collections online This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides digital access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the United Kingdom during the 18th century and listed in the Short Title Catalogue, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Searchable by keyword or advanced search (with limiters), or browse by authors or works. Includes "Contextual Essays" on concepts ("Deism " "Sensibility"), movements, and styles ("Rococo " "French Revolution"), and other key aspects of the 18th century (the publication of encyclopedias, for instance). Also groups materials by discipline in the "Key Documents" section.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to a significant number of reference works published by Gale. Includes works in all academic subjects, and includes encyclopedias, literary criticism (individual works, authors, and movements/genres), biographical dictionaries, directories, and dictionaries (of events, ideas, and movements). Most entries have the option of being read (includes downloading an MP3 of the computer-voice reading). Gale Cengage.
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window
A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via Google Books and the Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.
- Historic documents This link opens in a new windowProvides a digital edition of all 38 volumes of the print edition annual Historical Documents. Each volume consists of about 100 primary source documents related to the year's most significant events. Included in these documents are presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. These documents can be searched by keyword, browsed by title or subject, or searched by cumulative index. SAGE.
- Oxford scholarship online This link opens in a new window
Offers access to over 10 000 academic works, in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
- Salem history This link opens in a new windowIncludes the complete content of the following printed reference sets: The Fifties in America, The Sixties in America, The Seventies in America, Great Events from History Series, Great Lives from History: The Ancient World, Prehistory-476 c.e. Great Lives from History: The Middle Ages, and Great Lives from History: The Nineteenth Century. Search by keyword or name for events, places, people, or groups/movements. Limits by one of five topical areas (historical or geographic areas). Results are subdivided by "Biography " "History/Event " "Primary Source " and "Resources."
- Salem literature This link opens in a new windowProvides a searchable database of literary criticism contained in various series from the publisher Salem Press, including Critical Insights and Magill's Literary Annuals. Salem Press.
