Accessing Articles from Off-Campus
If you have trouble access articles or databases from off-campus, make sure you have logged into the Baylor library. Try putting http://ezproxy.baylor.edu/login?url= in front of the URL which will prompt you for your BearID and password. For more information check out this page.
Picking a Topic
Review articles are often a good place to start looking for topics. You can either search journals that specialize in review articles or use a database that allows you to limit your search to review articles so you can find review articles in journals that publish both scientific research articles and revew articles.
Journals with Review Articles
- Annual reviews This link opens in a new window
Contains review articles synthesizing primary research in the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
Databases taht can limit to Review Articles
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of scholarly works in 240 disciplines from over 7000 publishers. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
- Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new window
Finding Articles
Once you settle on a topic you can use the databases below will help you find articles. It is not an exhaustive list, but these are good places to start. You can either use an interdisciplinary database or a subject specific database. Depending on your topic you might want to also use subject databases in cognate fields such as engineering or geology.
The majority of the articles for your talks and paper should be scientific research articles or letters (short research articles) and not review papers. You should not use news item or notes or any other non-peer reviewed article.
If you have already found article that is helpful, some databases give you the option of finding related articles (cited articles, citing articles, and articles with overlapping references).
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowGeneral database with strong emphasis in science. Good for interdisciplinary topics. Direct links to articles and BUInfoLink button. Links to cited papers and citing papers and related papers.
- Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new windowGeneral database with strong emphasis in science. Good for interdisciplinary topics. Direct links to articles and BUInfoLink button. Links to cited papers and citing papers and related papers.
- SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window
a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics with access and pointers to electronic articles available from publishers’ websites, astronomical object information, data catalogs and data sets hosted by external archives.
- ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly unpublished preprints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and system science, and economics.
- AIP Publishing This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals and conference proceedings published or distributed by the American Institute of Physics.
- Inspec This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, conferences, monographs, preprints, reports, magazines, dissertations, and patents in physics; electrical and electronic engineering; computing; control engineering; information technology; mechanical engineering; and production and manufacturing.
- IEEE Xplore digital library This link opens in a new window
Provides a search interface for all IEEE and partner publications. - GeoRef (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Indexes academic journal articles, books, maps, conference papers reports, and theses in the geosciences and related fields.
