Exploratory Searching
It is important to note that when you start to think about what voice you want to represent, your searching and researching will be exploratory. Research is often not a linear process, but it's even more so when you are exploring a topic. Your research will take you off on rabbit trails as you learn new information. You may often need to go back and search places you have already search before with the new information you have uncovered. Don't lose heart! Each round of searching will lead you closer to the topic you will eventually present to your classmates.
Photo by Andreas Chu on Unsplash
Find Voices in Books & Articles
- Advanced OneSearchYou can use OneSearch to search for information in both books and articles on your country or topic.
When you are looking for books, use the search tips below to find primary sources
To quickly locate a particular type of primary source in most online catalogues use the following terms as SUBJECT rather than "Any field" terms:
Autobiography
Biography (this would not be in the first person, however)
Diaries
Correspondence
Archives
Sources
Interviews
Oral History
Personal Narratives (this is only used for accounts of disease or conflict/war)
Entries for countries and regions are usually subdivided by century. If you are looking for what is available to document general social or intellectual trends in a period, search for the country's formal name (Great Britain, not "England") followed by the century designation: Great Britain 15th century. Major events in any century will often have a subheading of their own: Great Britain World War 1914 - 1918.
You can use the subheading Sources with these time period designations as well: Hundred Years War 1339 1453 Sources
To search for a keyword and a subject heading, but the keyword in "Any field" and the subject term in the "Subject" field.
Find voices in the Newspapers
- PressReader This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of an extensive number of current national and international newspapers.
- ProQuest Latin American Newsstand This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 40 full-text newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese from across Latin America (specifically, from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico and Venezuela). Each issue is indexed and articles contain abstracts
- Ethnic newswatch This link opens in a new window
Indexes the newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals published by, about, and for ethnic, minority, and native peoples.
Find Voices in Video
- Ethnographic Video OnlineIntended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures.
Find Voices in Literature
Use this link to find the call number ranges for literature from different language regions around the world. You can use these call number ranges to browse for literature in different langauges at the Baylor Litbraries.
The P section is located on the 1st floor of Moody Library.
