It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TED 3396 Secondary English Education Practicum I: Pedagogy Resources
Information on what resources you and your students will have access to for reliable information on authors, poets, literary criticism, and related topics. How to conduct literary research.
Use the "Browse by Subject" search to find Education or Literature databases
We have over 650 databases! So make sure to read the description to avoid wasting time. If you need help, contact the library at http://libanswers.baylor.edu/.
How to search in a database
Keyword Searching: Databases don't really understand English. They'd rather you use "search statements" which combine keywords and a thing called operators. A lot of databases start with three or more search bars with an "AND" at the beginning. AND is one of the available "Booelan search operators." Also available are OR and NOT.
Use AND between keywords that every single result must include
Use ORin one search bar when the results can include several options
Education AND (teen OR youth)
Use NOT to exclude a keyword from the results.
AND (teen OR youth)
Subject Terms(a.k.a. "descriptors") are another powerful way to search databases
Subjects are descriptive words assigned to sources to tell what the source is primarily about. They are chosen from a limited set of words so that everyone is using the same controlled vocabulary.
For example, "instructional effectiveness" is used in the ERIC database (linked above), but "teaching effectiveness" is NOT used.
Browsing Subjects: If you see "Thesaurus" or "Subject Terms" as a link on a database search screen, you can use that to see the search or browse the subject terms accepted in that database.
Searching with Subjects: once you learn a subject term, you can use it on a database search screen. Add the term in the search bar, then change the search field from "keyword" to "subject" (or "descriptor" in some systems).