Guides: HIS 1307: World History Since 1500: Biographies, Dates, & Maps

Biography Sources

Australian dictionary of biography This link opens in a new window
Presents concise biographical articles on significant and representative persons in Australian history.
Current biography illustrated This link opens in a new window
Provides short biographies of persons currently in the news and about whom no full-length biography exists as of the date of publication in Current Biography.
Entries date back to 1940 but this is often the only reliable source for biography for current, living individuals.
Dictionary of Irish biography This link opens in a new window
Covers Irish men and women from the earliest times until 2001, providing biographies and a sense of their influence on Irish history, culture, and life.
Gale In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full-text access to a variety of news and reference sources containing the biographies of individuals from all time periods.
Oxford dictionary of national biography This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative biographies of deceased individuals who influenced British history, including colonial British-Americans. Biographies include a listing of major works written by the individual (if any) and a reference list of full-length biographies and critical articles. Each biography also includes a "Reputation" section which describes the individual's standing in his or her time period and how that has changed since then. Very helpfully will indicate where the individual's archives are, if they exist. Also provides links to major themed articles (on the American Founding Fathers, for instance), entries to related individuals, and to other online resources produced by Oxford University Press (which we may or may not have access to). Oxford University Press.

Maps and Timelines

Keesing's world news archive This link opens in a new window
Archives original, accurate and objective articles providing a digestible but detailed summary of world events, drawn from a wide range of press and other sources in a variety of languages. Indexes every volume, but only those articles from the current and previous year are available in full text.
AtoZ maps online This link opens in a new window
Provides a database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps.

HIS 1307: World History Since 1500: Biographies, Dates, & Maps

Biography Sources

Maps and Timelines

University Libraries