Individuals as Authors
- American rhetoric This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a searchable online speech bank.
- HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window
Full-text of books that are no longer protected by copyright. Works can be downloaded and analyzed by computer analysis. - JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to important scholarly journals and books in many different disciplines.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides searching and full-text access to scholarly journals from a wide variety of not-for-profit organizations (university presses, scholarly societies, historical associations, and religious communities).
Streaming Media Resources
- American history in video This link opens in a new window
Provides access to video of events in American history.
- C-SPAN video library : a digital archive of C-SPAN video created by cable offered as a public service This link opens in a new window
Records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987 is contained in the C-SPAN Archives.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowProvides streaming videos in multiple fields including Business, Fashion, Health & Medicine, History, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Political Science, Psychology, and Spirituality. Search by keyword or browse by subject/collection. Users can sign up for individual accounts and save playlists and edit clips. Runs on Flash and can be viewed on mobile devices.
- Meet the press This link opens in a new window
Provides access to programs which can be watched in streaming format and are fully searchable. All programs are provided with running transcripts.
- Naxos music library. This link opens in a new windowProvides streaming access to thousands of recordings from classical, jazz, and world music labels. Also includes supplemental text resources and ability to create playlists.
- Naxos spoken word library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to classical literature audiobooks and educational material, including novels, plays, and poetry from all periods.
- Paley Center seminars This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a video collection of interviews and panel discussions recorded at The Paley Center for Media (formerly the Museum of Television & Radio) from 1997 to the present. The seminars feature industry insiders discussing the processes of television production, the impact of media on contemporary society, and much more. Full transcriptions and detailed indexing allow searching for topics, titles, or speakers. Logging into "My Research" allows for saving items and searches and creating and annotating clips from videos
- Swank digital campus This link opens in a new windowProvides access to 1000 of the top academic streaming videos and documentaries “solely for the purposes of research, teaching, and private study” (no public performance use). Simple search by film title, use advanced search for names of cast or director. Browse by title, release date, or category (documentary, war, sci-fi, etc.), includes some foreign language films. Links to films and documentaries may be copied and placed in Canvas to assign them for viewing by students. Registration for instructors required on first use (to gain additional functionality) and recommended for students for convenience.
- Vanderbilt TV News ArchiveThe Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.
Print News Resources
We have access to many news sources depending on your needs. Please consult the list we have under News Sources for descriptions and lists of what we have.
Waterman Carene fountain pen
