Cambridge Companions
- The Cambridge History of Latina/o American Literature
"The Cambridge History of Latina/o American Literature emphasizes the importance of understanding Latina/o literature not simply as a US ethnic phenomenon but more broadly as an important element of a trans-American literary imagination." - The Cambridge History of Native American Literature
"This Cambridge History endeavors to capture and question the contested character of Indigenous texts and the way they are evaluated." - The Cambridge History of African American Literature
"The first major twenty-first century history of four hundred years of black writing, The Cambridge History of African American Literature presents a comprehensive overview of the literary traditions, oral and print, of African-descended peoples in the United States." - The Cambridge Companion to Transnational American Literature
"This Companion provides a comprehensive account of the scope, impact, and critical possibilities of the transnational turn in American literary studies. It situates the study of American literature in relation to ethnic, postcolonial, and hemispheric studies."
Specific Authors to 1899
Hawthorne's Writings
Hawthorne: Collected Novels by Call Number: Moody General PS1852 1983bISBN: 9780940450080Publication Date: 1983-04-15Click on title for ebook version.
Call number for print edition on Moody first floor
Hawthorne: Tales and Sketches by Call Number: Moody General PS1853 1982ISBN: 0940450038Publication Date: 1982-05-06Click on title for ebook version.
Call number for print edition on Moody first floor
Introduction and Beyond the Basics
I've provided a link to the Oxford Bibliography entry for each author when available. These will provide a very brief introduction and a bibliography of the latest critical studies on his/her works. Combined with a search in the MLA International Bibliography on your more specific work or theme, this will provide the best resources for any paper or presentation you need to produce for this class.
- Oxford Bibliographies: American Literature: Nathaniel HawthorneUse the [+] Find This Resource link to locate any individual item or article in the Baylor libraries, or to order a copy on interlibrary loan (OsoFast).
Melville's Writings
Novels: Selections by Call Number: Moody General PS2382 .T3 1983ISBN: 0585165157Publication Date: 1983-01-01Click on title for ebook version.
Call number for print edition on Moody first floor.
Includes "Redburn, His First Voyage"; "White-Jacket, or, the World in a Man-of-War"; "Moby-Dick, or, the Whale"
Typee; Omoo; and Mardi. by Call Number: PS2381.5 .T38 1982ISBN: 0940450003Publication Date: 1982-05-06Click on title for ebook version.
Call number for print edition on Moody first floor.
Works: Selections. by Call Number: Moody General PS2382 1984ISBN: 9780940450240Publication Date: 1985-04-01Print edition only on Moody first.
Includes:
Pierre; or, The Ambiguities
Israel Potter
The Piazza Tales
Introduction and Beyond the Basics
I've provided a link to the Oxford Bibliography entry for each author when available. These will provide a very brief introduction and a bibliography of the latest critical studies on his/her works. Combined with a search in the MLA International Bibliography on your more specific work or theme, this will provide the best resources for any paper or presentation you need to produce for this class.
- Oxford Bibliographies: American Literature: Herman MelvilleUse the [+] Find This Resource link to locate any individual item or article in the Baylor libraries, or to order a copy on interlibrary loan (OsoFast).
Poe's Writings
Edgar Allan Poe: Selected Tales by Call Number: Moody General PS2603 2009ISBN: 9781598530568Publication Date: 2009-07-30Print book only on Moody first.
Includes: all of Poe's best know and most representative works and the novella "The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym."
Poe: Poetry and Tales. by Call Number: Moody General PS2603 1984ISBN: 0940450186Publication Date: 1984-08-15Print book only on Moody first.
Includes Poe's well-known tales of "mystery and imagination" and his best-known verse and poems.
Poe : Essays and Reviews by Call Number: Moody General PS2619 .A1 1984ISBN: 0940450194Publication Date: 1984-08-15Click on title for ebook version.
Call number for print edition on Moody first floor
Includes all of Poe's major writings on the theory of poetry, the art of fiction, and the duties of a critic
Introduction & Beyond the Basics
I've provided a link to the Oxford Bibliography entry for each author when available. These will provide a very brief introduction and a bibliography of the latest critical studies on his/her works. Combined with a search in the MLA International Bibliography on your more specific work or theme, this will provide the best resources for any paper or presentation you need to produce for this class.
- Oxford Bibliographies: American Literature: Edgar Alan PoeUse the [+] Find This Resource link to locate any individual item or article in the Baylor libraries, or to order a copy on interlibrary loan (OsoFast).
Dickinson's Writings
The Poems of Emily Dickinson by Call Number: Moody General PS1541 .A17 1999ISBN: 0674676246Publication Date: 1999-09-24The author, one of the foremost scholars of Dickinson's manuscripts, has prepared a one-volume edition of all extant poems by Emily Dickinson, 1789 poems in all, rendered with Dickinson's spelling, punctuation, and capitilization intact.
Emily Dickinson's Poems by Call Number: Armstrong Browning Library 811.4 D553e 2016ISBN: 9780674737969Publication Date: 2016-04-11This is a library use only volume.
Introduction and Beyond the Basic
I've provided a link to the Oxford Bibliography entry for each author when available. These will provide a very brief introduction and a bibliography of the latest critical studies on his/her works. Combined with a search in the MLA International Bibliography on your more specific work or theme, this will provide the best resources for any paper or presentation you need to produce for this class.
- Oxford Bibliographies: American Literature: Emily DickinsonUse the [+] Find This Resource link to locate any individual item or article in the Baylor libraries, or to order a copy on interlibrary loan (OsoFast).
Whitman's Writings
Whitman: Complete Poetry and Collected Prose by Call Number: Moody General PS3200 .F82ISBN: 094045002XPublication Date: 1982-05-06Click on title for ebook version.
Call number for print edition on Moody first floor
Introduction and Beyond the Basic
I've provided a link to the Oxford Bibliography entry for each author when available. These will provide a very brief introduction and a bibliography of the latest critical studies on his/her works. Combined with a search in the MLA International Bibliography on your more specific work or theme, this will provide the best resources for any paper or presentation you need to produce for this class.
- Oxford Bibliographies: American Literature: Walt WhitmanUse the [+] Find This Resource link to locate any individual item or article in the Baylor libraries, or to order a copy on interlibrary loan (OsoFast).
Twain's Writings
The Gilded Age and Later Novels by Call Number: Moody General PS1302 2002ISBN: 1931082103Publication Date: 2002-01-07Print edition only on Moody first.
Includes: The gilded age -- The American claimant -- Tom Sawyer abroad -- Tom Sawyer, detective -- No. 44, the mysterious stranger.
Historical Romances by Call Number: ebookISBN: 0585196206Publication Date: 1994-01-01Includes: The Prince and the Pauper; A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court; Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc.
Mark Twain: Mississippi Writings by Call Number: Moody General PS1302 1982cISBN: 0940450070Publication Date: 1982-11-01Print edition only on Moody first.
Includes: The Adventures of Tom Sawyer -- Life on the Mississippi -- Adventures of Huckleberry Finn -- Pudd'nhead Wilson.
Introduction and Beyond the Basic
I've provided a link to the Oxford Bibliography entry for each author when available. These will provide a very brief introduction and a bibliography of the latest critical studies on his/her works. Combined with a search in the MLA International Bibliography on your more specific work or theme, this will provide the best resources for any paper or presentation you need to produce for this class.
- Oxford Bibliographies: American Literature: Mark TwainUse the [+] Find This Resource link to locate any individual item or article in the Baylor libraries, or to order a copy on interlibrary loan (OsoFast).
Specific Authors since 1900
Cather's Writings
Cather : Stories, Poems, and Other Writings by Call Number: Moody General PS3505.A87 A6 1992bISBN: 9780940450714Publication Date: 1992-03-01Print book only on Moody first.
Includes: Uncollected Stories (1892-1929) -- Alexander's Bridge -- Youth and the Bright Medusa -- My Mortal Enemy -- Obscure Destinies -- The Old Beauty, and Others -- April Twilights, and Other Poems -- Not Under Forty -- Selected Reviews and Essays (1895-1940).
Cather : Later Novels by Call Number: Moody General PS3505.A87 A6 1990ISBN: 9780940450523Publication Date: 1990-07-15Print book only on Moody first.
Includes: A Lost Lady -- The Professor's House -- Death Comes for the Archbishop -- Shadows on the Rock -- Lucy Gayheart -- Sapphira and the Slave Girl.
Cather : Early Novels and Stories by Call Number: Moody General PS3505.A87 A6 1987ISBN: 0940450399Publication Date: 1987-01-01Click on title for ebook version.
Call number for print edition on Moody first floor
Includes: The Troll Garden -- O Pioneers! -- The Song of the Lark -- My Antonia -- One of Ours.
Introduction and Beyond the Basic
Some Writings by Cisneros
A House of My Own by ISBN: 9780385351331Publication Date: 2015-10-06From the author of The House on Mango Street, a richly illustrated compilation of true stories and nonfiction pieces that, taken together, form a jigsaw autobiography--an intimate album of a beloved literary legend. From the Chicago neighborhoods where she grew up and set her groundbreaking The House on Mango Street to her abode in Mexico in a region where "my ancestors lived for centuries," the places Sandra Cisneros has lived have provided inspiration for her now-classic works of fiction and poetry. But a house of her own, where she could truly take root, has eluded her. With this collection--spanning three decades, and including never-before-published work--Cisneros has come home at last. Ranging from the private (her parents' loving and tempestuous marriage) to the political (a rallying cry for one woman's liberty in Sarajevo) to the literary (a tribute to Marguerite Duras), and written with her trademark lyricism, these signature pieces recall transformative memories as well as reveal her defining artistic and intellectual influences. Poignant, honest, deeply moving, this is an exuberant celebration of a life in writing lived to the fullest.
Introduction and Beyond the Basic
- Oxford Bibliographies: American Literature: Sandra CisnerosUse the [+] Find This Resource link to locate any individual item or article in the Baylor libraries, or to order a copy on interlibrary loan (OsoFast).
Some Works by Faulkner
- Collected Stories byPublication Date: 1950
These Thirteen by Publication Date: 1974
Introduction and Beyond the Basic
- Oxford Bibliographies: American Literature: William FaulknerUse the [+] Find This Resource link to locate any individual item or article in the Baylor libraries, or to order a copy on interlibrary loan (OsoFast).
Introduction and Beyond the Basics
Introduction and Beyond the Basics
I've provided a link to the Oxford Bibliography entry for each author when available. These will provide a very brief introduction and a bibliography of the latest critical studies on his/her works. Combined with a search in the MLA International Bibliography on your more specific work or theme, this will provide the best resources for any paper or presentation you need to produce for this class.
Please use this bibliography's section titled Primary Texts for recommended editions of Hemingway's published works.
- Oxford Bibliographies: American Literature: Ernest HemingwayUse the [+] Find This Resource link to locate any individual item or article in the Baylor libraries, or to order a copy on interlibrary loan (OsoFast).
Introduction and Beyond the Basic
- Oxford Bibliographies: American Literature: Toni MorrisonUse the [+] Find This Resource link to locate any individual item or article in the Baylor libraries, or to order a copy on interlibrary loan (OsoFast).
Introduction and Beyond the Basic
- Oxford Bibliographies: American Literature: Tim O'BrienUse the [+] Find This Resource link to locate any individual item or article in the Baylor libraries, or to order a copy on interlibrary loan (OsoFast).
