Finding Articles
The databases below will help you find articles. It is not an exhaustive list, but these are good places to start.
To find articles by a particular author, use the advanced search and the last name and initial(s) in the author field. If the person has a common last name, you might also want to add their institution or a topic.
Limit your results to articles published since 2007.
Make sure you choose a scientific research article and not a review paper or report or news item.
Some databases give you the option of clicking to find related articles.
- BIOSIS This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic references for scholarly material covering life sciences and biomedical research including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, molecular and cellular biology, pharmacology, and zoology.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. National Agricultural Library covering all aspects of agriculture including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture, farming, food and human nutrition, earth and environmental sciences.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text journal articles and books on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- PubMed Advanced SearchFocuses medical or "human" biology with some coverage in other areas of biology. Direct links to some papers available in PubMedCentral or BioMedCentral. Links to articles in publishers websites. However, if BU does not have a subscription to that journal (or that issue), there is no BUInfoLink for interlibrary loan. Can click to find related articles.
- MEDLINE (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of scholarly works in 240 disciplines from over 7000 publishers. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
- Web of science. Core collection This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed works in 254 disciplines. Includes links to references, citations, and related works and has extensive author profiles.
Accessing Articles from Off-Campus
If you have trouble access articles or databases from off-campus, make sure you have logged into the Baylor University Libraries. Try putting http://ezproxy.baylor.edu/login?url= in front of the URL which will prompt you for your BearID and password. For more information check out this page or the guide below
