Timelines of art
- Timelines of World Art (from Oxford Art)Review significant moments in art history from all over the globe. The timelines feature brief summaries of important events in the visual arts; many of the summaries are accompanied by an image, and all link to articles in Grove Art Online for further reading.
The Art Story Timeline (see 1940s-1980s) and also The Art Story Movements page.
Encyclopedia of Art Education Timelines (see 20th Century section)
Artsy.net Art History 101 brief overview essays of 20th century movements and figures
Art Terminology
Link to OneSearch results for "art terminology" resources
Selection of art terminology resources. Top see more examples, search the library catalog (by subject) for:
art terminology
art encyclopedias
art dictionaries
SELECTED EXAMPLES:
The Tate guide to modern art terms by Call Number: N34 .W55 2008ISBN: 1854377507Publication Date: 2008
The Tate's Online Guide to Art Terms
Tate's online glossary is designed to explain and illuminate some of the art terminology used on the Tate website. Contains definitions, most with illustrations, of over 400 terms including artist groups and art movements, techniques, media and other art jargon.
- Elsevier's Dictionary of Art History Terms: in French-English and English-FrenchCall Number: Crouch Ref. N33 .E49 2005
- Critical Terms for Art HistoryPrint edition also available: N34 .C75 2003
- Glossary of art, architecture, and design since 1945 byCall Number: Crouch Ref. N34 .W34x 1992ISBN: 0853656398Publication Date: 1992
Information on artists
- Benezit Dictionary of ArtistsAvailable online via Oxford Art Online. With nearly 170,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day and featuring regular updates, Benezit is one of the most comprehensive and definitive resources on artists in the English language. Entries are clear and concise, and Benezit contains thousands of auction records, museum holdings, and bibliographies.
- Oxford art online This link opens in a new windowServes as a portal to several important art related resources: Grove Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Search by terms biographies, subject entries, or images. Oxford University Press.
Information on periods and movements
- Oxford art online This link opens in a new windowServes as a portal to several important art related resources: Grove Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Search by terms biographies, subject entries, or images. Oxford University Press.
- A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary ArtContains more than 2,000 entries on all aspects of modern and contemporary art. Includes movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, dealers, schools, and galleries. There are biographical entries for artists worldwide from the beginning of the 20th century through to the beginning of the 21st. International coverage, indications of public collections and publicly sited works.
