Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Recording Archives

Collections housed in the Arts and Special Collections Research Center / Moody Memorial Library

About

This collection holds more than 9,000 audio recordings of School of Music performances, including faculty recitals, student recitals, and ensemble concerts.  The archive is mostly complete from 1980 to approximately one year ago, and also includes a small number of recordings from earlier years. 

Among the musical works on the recordings are many that have seldom been heard; some of these have never been commercially recorded, and a smaller number were premiered here at Baylor.  To identify recordings of interest or to find a performance date:

  • Search OneSearch for recordings that have been fully cataloged.

  • Recordings that have not been cataloged for OneSearch can be identified by searching the performance programs in the Baylor Digital Collections.  Please note that, for some performances, recordings do not exist.  This is the case with almost all recitals given by guest artists. 

Performances that were originally recorded on tape or CD are in the process of being digitally preserved.
If you would like to request a digital copy of a recording, please read the School of Music policy first to ensure you are eligible. The Libraries do not own the copyright on these recordings. We partner with the School of Music to approve appropriate access.  Please read through the policy located on this guide.

Once you have read the policy, and are eligible, please click on the link below and select the 'School of Music Recording Request' form.
Request Form

Access Policy for School of Music Performance Recording Archive

Access Policy for School of Music Performance Recording Archive

Approved by the School of Music, 9 April 2018

  1. All requests for access to Baylor School of Music archival recordings must be submitted in writing, using the online form on the Crouch Fine Arts Library website.

  2. Any performer in a solo or small ensemble performance (up to 9 performers) may request download access or streaming access to the audio recording. The performer’s name will be verified with the performance program, if one is available, before access is provided. If the program is not available, the request will be referred to the School of Music for decision. By default, download files will be in MP3 format. WAV format files, where available, will be provided upon request. In response to streaming requests, a link to the recording will be sent by e-mail to the requestor.

  3. Any performer in a large ensemble performance (defined as 10 or more performers) may request download access or streaming access to the audio recording. The performer’s name will be verified with the performance program, if one is available, before access is provided. If the program is not available, the request will be referred to the School of Music for decision. By default, download files will be in MP3 format; no higher resolution files will be provided without the written permission of the School of Music. In response to streaming requests, a link to the recording will be sent by e-mail to the requestor. The link may be shared only with persons currently enrolled at, employed by, or officially retired from Baylor University who have an active Bear ID and password.

  4. Any current student, faculty member, or staff member in the School of Music may request online streaming access to any audio recording in the collection. By default, access will be limited to a period of 30 days; faculty members and graduate students may request a longer period. Subsequent requests will be permitted, but these may be limited at the Library’s discretion. A link to the recording will be sent to the Baylor e-mail account of the requestor. The link may be shared only with persons currently enrolled at, employed by, or officially retired from Baylor University who have an active Bear ID and password.

  5. For the purposes of research or study, other individuals may request online streaming access to any audio recording in the archives. Access will be limited to a period of 30 days and to five requests per month. The requestor will receive a link to the recording via e-mail; sharing of the link is strictly prohibited.

  6. Unaffiliated persons requesting access to recordings for purposes other than research or study will be referred to the School of Music. With the School’s written approval under certain terms, they may be granted either streaming or download access.

University Libraries

One Bear Place #97148
Waco, TX 76798-7148

(254) 710-6702