It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Doing a Systematic Review by Angela Boland (Editor); Gemma Cherry (Editor); Rumona Dickson (Editor)Written in a friendly, accessible style by an expert team of authors with years of experience in both conducting and supervising systematic reviews, this is the perfect guide to using systematic review methodology in a research project. It provides clear answers to all review-related questions, including: How do I formulate an appropriate review question? What's the best way to manage my review? How do I develop my search strategy? How do I get started with data extraction? How do I assess the quality of a study? How can I analyse and synthesize my data? How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis?
Call Number: LB2369.D635 2017
Publication Date: 2017-11-23
Finding and Evaluating Evidence: systematic reviews and evidence-based practice by Denise E. Bronson; Tamara S. DavisEvidence-based practice (EBP) promises to have a profound impact on social work practice, education, and scholarship, but adopting EBP depends on the availability and accessibility of evidence and on strategies to synthesize this information. Systematic reviews provide a comprehensive, unbiased method for retrieving and synthesizing relevant research. This pocket guide is a concise introduction that describes the steps required to complete a systematic review and the criteria that can be used to assess the quality of existing reviews.
Call Number: Moody General Collection HV11 .B834 2012
Publication Date: 2011-09-22
The Integrative Research Review by Harris CooperEvery book, paper, or dissertation in the social sciences involves some element of literature review. This is the first book to systematize the practice of reviewing existing literature, and will thus be invaluable to everyone who writes in the social sciences. Those students who have some background in basic research methods and statistics will find that this book shows them how to produce a review that can be replicated, will achieve concensus, and focus debate in a constructive fashion.
Call Number: H62 .C5859 1984
Publication Date: 1984-09-01
An Introduction to Systematic Reviews by David Gough (Editor); Sandy Oliver (Editor); James Thomas (Editor)Focused on actively using systematic review as method, this book provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing. Stressing the importance of precision and accuracy, this new edition carefully balances a need for insightful theory with real-world pragmatism; it introduces a wide range of cutting-edge approaches to research synthesis including text mining, living reviews and new ideas in mixed methods reviews such as qualitative comparative analysis. The book also includes: A new chapter on statistical synthesis Coverage of computer-assisted methods and relevant software Expanded sections on data extraction and management A guide to working with many different types of data including longitudinal and panel. Packed with examples from across the social sciences, this book helps students and researchers alike in turning systematic reviews into recommendations for policy and practice.
Call Number: Q180.A1 G72 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-05
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by Andrew Booth; Anthea Sutton; Diana PapaioannouShowing you how to take a structured and organized approach to a wide range of literature review types, this book helps you to choose which approach is right for your research. Packed with constructive tools, examples, case studies and hands-on exercises, the book covers the full range of literature review techniques.New to This Edition: Full re-organization takes you step-by-step through the process from beginning to end New chapter showing you how to choose the right method for your project Practical guidance on integrating qualitative and quantitative data New coverage of rapid reviews Comprehensive inclusion of literature review tools, including concept analysis, scoping and mapping With an emphasis on the practical skills, this guide is essential for any student or researcher needing to get from first steps to a successful literature review.
Call Number: LB 1047.3.B66 2016
Publication Date: 2016-08-15
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis by Jacqueline Corcoran; Vijayan Pillai; Julia H. LittellWhen used in tandem, systematic reviews and meta-analysis-- two distinct but highly compatible approaches to research synthesis-- form a powerful, scientific approach to analyzing previous studies. But to see their full potential, a social work researcher must be versed in the foundationalprocesses underlying them. This pocket guide to Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis illuminates precisely that practical groundwork.In clear, step-by-step terms, the authors explain how to format topics, locate and screen studies, extract and assess data, pool effect sizes, determine bias, and interpret the results, showing readers how to combine reviewing and meta-analysis correctly and effectively. Each chapter containsvivid social work examples and concludes with a concise summary and notes on further reading, while the book's glossary and handy checklists and sample search and data extraction forms maximize the boo'ks usefulness.Highlighting the concepts necessary to understand, critique, and conduct research synthesis, this brief and highly readable introduction is a terrific resource for students and researchers alike.
Call Number: H62 .L497 2008
Publication Date: 2008-02-13
Systematic Synthesis of Qualitative Research by Michael Saini; Aron ShlonskyQualitative synthesis within the family of systematic reviews meets an urgent need to use knowledge derived from qualitative studies to inform practice, research, and policy. Despite the contingent nature of evidence gleaned from synthesis of qualitative studies, systematic synthesis is an important technique and, used judiciously, can deepen understanding of the contextual dimensions that emerge from qualitative research. This pocket guide presents an overview for planning, developing, and implementing qualitative synthesis within existing protocols and guidelines for conducting systematic reviews. The authors also explore methodological challenges, including: the philosophical tensions of integrating qualitative synthesis within the family of systematic reviews; the balance of comprehensive and iterative information retrieval strategies to locate and screen qualitative research; the use of appraisal tools to assess quality of qualitative studies; the various approaches to synthesize qualitative studies, including interpretive, integrated, and aggregative; and the tensions between the generalizability and transferability of findings that emerge from qualitative synthesis. Social work researchers, educators, and doctoral students who are interested in systematic reviews will find the step-by-step format of this book invaluable for conducting their reviews, both in the form of rapid evidence assessments and in high-quality critical reviews.
Practitioner's Guide to Using Research for Evidence-Based Practice by Allen RubinWritten by a top scholar in the field, Practitioner's Guide to Using Research for Evidence-Based Practice gives essential and practical guidance on how to integrate research appraisal into evidence-based practice endeavors to ensure the best client care. This reader-friendly book presents you with the knowledge you need about various research designs and methods so that when engaging in the evidence-based practice (EBP) process, you can determine which interventions, programs, policies, and assessment tools are supported by the best evidence.
Call Number: RC337 .R73 2008
Publication Date: 2007-11-09
Reviewing Research Evidence for Nursing Practice by Christine Webb (Editor); Brenda Roe (Editor)Reviewing research evidence for nursing practice: systematic reviews highlights the key issues involved in conducting different types of systematic reviews - encompassing qualitative studies, quantitative studies and combining quantitative and qualitative studies. It enables nurses and researchers to understand the key principles involved in preparing systematic reviews and to critically appraise the reviews they read and evaluate their usefulness in developing their own practice. Each section starts with an overview of the methodology, followed by a selection of systematic reviews carried out in specialist areas of nursing practice. Part 1 explores systematic reviews and meta-analysis of quantitative research, part 2 explores meta-synthesis and meta-study of qualitative research and part 3 addresses integrative reviews that combine both qualitative and quantitative evidence. The final part explores the use of systematic reviews in service and practice development.
Systematic Reviews in Health Care by Paul GlasziouThe past two decades have seen increasing interest and developments in methods for doing high quality systematic reviews. This volume provides a clear introduction to the concepts of systematic reviews, and lucidly describes the difficulties and traps to avoid. A unique feature of the manual is its description of the different methods needed for different types of health care questions: frequency of disease, prognosis, diagnosis, risk, and management. This book also provides illustrative examples and exercises for each of the sections.
Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences by Helen Roberts; Mark PetticrewSuch diverse thinkers as Lao-Tze, Confucius, and U.S. DefenseSecretary Donald Rumsfeld have all pointed out that we need to beable to tell the difference between real and assumed knowledge. Thesystematic review is a scientific tool that can help with thisdifficult task. It can help, for example, with appraising,summarising, and communicating the results and implications ofotherwise unmanageable quantities of data. This book, written by two highly-respected social scientists,provides an overview of systematic literature review methods: Outlining the rationale and methods of systematicreviews; Giving worked examples from social science and otherfields; Applying the practice to all social science disciplines; It requires no previous knowledge, but takes the reader throughthe process stage by stage; Drawing on examples from such diverse fields as psychology,criminology, education, transport, social welfare, public health,and housing and urban policy, among others. Including detailed sections on assessing the quality of bothquantitative, and qualitative research; searching for evidence inthe social sciences; meta-analytic and other methods of evidence synthesis; publicationbias; heterogeneity; and approaches to dissemination.