Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Video 101: Home

Whether borrowing A/V equipment, learning editing software, or consulting for a class video project, this guide should serve as a hub for informational resources and useful contacts.

Welcome to the Media Lab

The HelpDesk+ Media Lab provides equipment and expertise to help get you started on your next video project. Whether borrowing A/V equipment, learning editing software, or consulting for a class video project, this guide should serve as a hub for informational resources and useful contacts.

Academic Consultant, Digital Media

Profile Photo
Terry Raper
Contact:
Moody Library
Garden Level - G27f
254-710-2862

Media Lab Basics: VIDEO 101

Planning to Shoot?

Once you’ve planned out your video project, you can begin shooting.

Video recording can be done with a cell phone with a built-in camera and microphone, but you will produce a much higher quality recording if you use better recording equipment.

One option is to record in an video studio, like the one located in The Media Lab. The video booth in The Media Lab has the equipment for a professional quality recording. To use the video booth, reserve the video studio in advance through Libcal.

Another option is to borrow equipment from The Media Lab. This is a good option if you want to record interviews at an event or record lectures from your home office. Equipment is available first come, first served basis. Click here to view and reserve video equipment from The Media Lab.

Get help from The Media Lab

The Media Lab, located in Moody Library, has staff available to help for all aspects of multimedia projects. Faculty, staff, and students who need help during project creation should schedule an appointment and visit Moody Library to get assistance from our experienced Creative Labs staff.

Video Studio

The Media Lab contains a video booth equipped with a professional quality video camera and an easy to use set-up.

Click here to reserve the video studio in advance.

For help setting up and using the equipment in the audio studio, schedule a consultation with Media Lab Staff. 

The Video Booth is designed for simple to use professional video capture. 

Mobile Recording​

The Media Lab has a variety of cameras and equipment available to help record a video project on the go. Equipment is available to anyone in the Baylor community and is checked out from the Garden Level of the Moody library.

You can browse all Media Lab equipment here. 

 

LUMIX GH4 - Professional 4K Mirrorless Interchangeable Lens Camera. 

 

Canon Vixia R72 - A classic consumer level camcorder.

 

Sony α6000 - DSLR Camera.

 

GoPro Hero4 - 4K Sport & Action Camera. 

 

Webcams - External USB web cameras for desktop lecture recording.

 

Document Cameras - External USB cameras for hand written document recording.
 
360 Cameras - The Gear 360 lets you easily capture 360° spherical VR videos and photos that you can afterwards view with optional VR goggles or on 360 platforms such as YouTube 360 for an immersive experience in high resolution. 

 

Tripods - Built to use with nearly all cameras, mount a camera and shoot from anywhere.

 

Lighting Kits - External lighting for any video recording scenario.

 

 

Editing Software

The Media Lab computers are equipped with  editing software. Feel free to visit Moody Library to use any workstation to complete your meida project. 

 

Recommended software includes:

 

iMovie - Free video editing program installed on all Mac systems. The easiest program to use, but the most limited in capabilities.

 

Adobe Premiere - Paid video editing program for both Mac and PC. Comes equipped in all Baylor lab computers, but could be costly when purchasing a personal license. Advance capabilities gives more control, but has a steeper learning curve.

 

General Editing

You've written your scripts, done your recording and you're ready to put it all together. But exactly how do you do that? This process of cutting and assembling your final project from all your components is called editing.

You should start by compiling your assets, which are all of the components including video clips, still images, and audio files like music and sound effects. Then you'll bring your assets into an editing program. When you've completed your project, export it as a .MP4 or .MOV and upload to a sharing platform.

The art of editing takes time and practice to improve. Some general tips to get started include:

Know your footage: Review what you've recorded, take notes, and know how you're going to shape the story
B-Roll is important: Shoot as much B-Roll, or extra footage that correlates with your subject matter. The more footage you have, the easier it is to edit over mistakes.
Learn the Hot Keys: Each program has its own set of hot keys, or shortcuts, that allow for quicker editing. The more familiar you are with a single program, the faster your editing time will be.
Add music and sound effects: Find music that fits your tone and sound effects that enhance your video.

Background noise: steady, constant background noises like fans and hums can be taken out in Adobe Premiere. It is much harder to take out random noises like other people talking or sirens.

Adding Sound

Engaging video usually includes some form of sound or music  Music can also be added into the background of a noisy interview clip to mask the noise.

Royalty free music allows you to purchase a license for a piece of music that entitles you to use it for the duration of the license.

For free music, search for creative commons licensed music, which generally allow you to use a piece of music for free and without permission, as long as you credit the artist. Some creative commons licensed music is restricted to non-commercial uses. Always make sure you have permission to use a piece of music. You can also search for music that is in the public domain, in which the copyright has expired. Websites to browse through include:


Sound Effects
Free Sound A collaborative database of CC-licensed sound. Freesound focusses on sound and sound effects, not music
Archive.org Non-profit digital library with collections of digitized free movies, music, images, websites and more
Music
Free Music Archive CC-licensed music grouped by genre  | 
ccMixter CC-licensed music for film, video and games  | 
CCTrax CC-licensed music grouped by genre  | 
Incompetech CC-licensed and royalty-free music from one composer  | 
Soundcloud Audio-sharing site with a decent amount of CC-licensed music  | 
mobygratis Electronic musician Moby has released many of his songs to use for free in educational projects  | 

If you have a musical friend, consider asking them if you can use their music or if they’d like to partner with you to create sounds specifically for your project.

Sharing & Embedding

 

Media Space Upload

Kaltura Mediaspace allows for video upload and web storage for all Baylor fac/staff. Kaltura also seamlessly integrates with Canvas to add videos to your online classrooms. For a full Kaltura Tutorial Click Here

 

 

 

Social Sharing

Social video sharing sites provide an increasingly popular forum for uploading and distributing original audio content. YouTube offers a way to upload video and share via popular social networks such as Twitter or Facebook, as well as embed video into websites. 

 

 

 

DropboxCloud Sharing

For sending large files privately to specific people, consider using a cloud-based service such as Dropbox or Google Drive. With these services, control exactly which collaborators receive the files.

Recording For Online Courses

Recording lectures doesn’t have to be intimidating or complicated, but it does need to be flexible. Regardless of where your lecture recording takes place, the best lecture capture systems allow instructors to focus on teaching and seamlessly take care of the recording. And while every system is a little different, here are a few basic tips that give you the best way to record.

 

Tips for Accessible Video

Making the content you create universally accessible is a good habit to form. When creating a lecture recording or screencast, remember to be descriptive in your narration. This will help ensure that your video is easily understood by your viewers. 

 

For example:

  • Describe what you are doing at the same time as you are. For example, "I am now clicking on the article from the New York Times titled 'How to Become a ‘Digital Nomad’ " 

  • Do not be tempted to fill every moment, it's okay to pause for a moment to collect your thoughts before carrying on 

  • Speed is not of the essence, clarity is 

  • Avoid the term "we see", instead be sure to describe the action you are taking or item on the screen that you are referencing 

  • Listen to your video/audio before publishing it, this is the equivalent of proofreading a paper before submitting

  • Don't be afraid to show that you're human, mistakes happen, perfection isn't what we are aiming for. Done is better than perfect.

Suggested Equipment

 

 

  • Desktop with external webcam and microphone

    • Laptop with built-in webcam and mic

  • Recording/Editing Software

  • Document Camera (Optional)

  • iPad (Optional)

Screen Recording & Canvas Uploading

For a full Kaltura Tutorial Click Here

General Recording Tips

 

Visual

  • Sit in a well-lit space
    • Lighting should come from in front of you or from the side
    • Avoid being backlit from windows or a lamp
  • Pay attention to your clothing and background
  • Put your camera at eye level or higher

 

Audio

  • Utilize the best microphone you have, it may surprise you but the headphones from your smartphone may be it.
  • Try to stay away from background noise
  • Test your Audio/Video before a meeting
  • If you are worried about sounding natural, make sure your surroundings put you at ease, have a beverage of choice nearby, I usually have a cup of tea handy, and if you have some, put on headphones with a microphone to allow you to zone into the project. 
  • You aren’t an audiobook narrator so don’t stress, students just want to be able to hear you clearly.

 

Technical

  • Test how to share your screen if you plan on it. Closeout all extra windows to ensure the privacy of you and your students.
  • Find a mostly quiet place when you are ready to record, be sure to turn your phone on silent. Nothing is more frustrating than having almost finished your final video and your phone is suddenly bombarded with alerts. 
  • Have your notes or outline printed or on another screen in eyesight while recording. 
  • Learn the shortcuts, most recording software uses the space button as a quick way to pause, use the pause button to recollect your thoughts if need be and then un-pause to continue your recording at ease. 

HELPDESK+ HOME | hdplus@baylor.libanswers.com | (254) 710-TECH (8324)